Adaptations: October 2015

Adaptations #3

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adapted films and TV series I have watched this month:

Pride and Prejudice (1995)          Read     TV Series     Television
The BBC’s classic adaptation of Jane Austen’s classic novel. I love the 2005 film however I have for some time longed to watch this too. The Drama channel has been showing the whole series back-to-back, with the colour beautifully remastered, for its 20th anniversary. I found it a charming watch, and Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle make an excellent Darcy and Elizabeth. Great watch.

Midwinter of the Spirit (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
A new three-part, supernatural-drama from ITV based on Phil Rickman’s novel. Country vicar Merrily Watson, a newly qualified exorcist, is thrown into the deep end with a grisly murder, a desecrated church, Satanists, and an evil, haunting spirit. A dark and gripping series; starring the wonderful Anna Maxwell Martin and David Threlfall. Great watch, and perfect for autumn and the R.I.P event.

Emma (1996)          Read     TV Series     Television
I love the BBC’s 2009 series, however I had heard of this earlier star studded film adaptation of Jane Austen’s classic novel. I was pleased to spot this was being shown on ITV3 one weekend. A colourful, witty and charming film. Not all the casting choices quite fitted for me but Gwyneth Paltrow is a sweet Emma. Good watch.

The Shawshank Redemption (1994)          Not Read     Film     DVD
A ‘cult classic’ prison drama, based on Stephen King’s novella Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, which I have wanted to watch for years! A dark tale of the violence, injustice and institutionalisation of a corrupt American prison. Where one man starts to bring friendship, hope and redemption to others through his positive actions. Powerful cinematography, soundtrack, message and performances from Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman. Great watch.

Black Sails (2014)          Read     TV Series     Television
A new swashbuckling prequel to Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island, which made its UK TV premiere this year (2015) on the History channel. Two decades before the original adventure the fearsome Captain Flint makes an uneasy alliance with newcomer John Silver to hunt down the Urca de Lima, a Spanish treasure galleon. Stunning visuals and a rip-roaring adventure, however for me could have had stronger characters. Good watch.

October has been a great month for adaptations for me. I managed to watch some classics I’ve wished to see for ages and caught some interesting new shows too. Still many, many more adaptations to look forward to and share with you though. As I have continued watching Sky’s new series Zoo, and I still have the BBC’s new TV films Lady Chatterley’s Love and An Inspector Calls to watch. Plus I am looking forward to the return of American supernatural series Sleepy Hollow and Grimm.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: October 2015

  1. I rewatched the 1995 Pride and Prejudice recently. Firth and Ehle bring a lot of warmth to the characters (well, the warmth comes later in the film for Mr. Darcy of course, but then it’s there.)

  2. Traitor! Haahaa, I was not a fan of Emma, the book or the novel, and I think a lot of that had to do with Gwyneth Paltrow for some reason. I really should re-watch it though, it’s been a long time.

  3. I watched Insurgent, the second installment in the Divergent trilogy. I didn’t like it; the chemistry between Tris and Four, which was the driving force in the first movie, is gone.

Leave a Reply

