Goodbye October, Hello November 2015

October 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? October has been cold and has just flown by for me; I think I blinked and missed it! Work has continued to go well however I have also been suffering with sinus problems, a rotten cold and cough. When I am under the weather I often find myself watching more TV and films as I find them easier on my mind. So I have watched plenty of good adaptations this month but sadly I had read a lot less.

Fiction: 3     Non-Fiction: 2     Poetry: 0

I started the month off with Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson off my Classics Club list. A sweeping historical adventure that was a little slow but a comforting read. October has also seen the R.I.P X event continue for me so first up was modern classic The Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart. A nostalgic suspense set in the beautiful Austrian mountains which was a perfect read for this event and my tired mind. Then I finished the event off with, the classic Sherlock Holmes mystery, The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle. My full thoughts still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions I also read two non-fictions. First historical non-fiction The Rise of Thomas Cromwell by Michael Everett. A really interesting look into the back story and day-to-day life of the notorious Thomas Cromwell. Then at the end of the month I finished off Christian non-fiction Better Relationships, Better Life by Pam Ovwigho. My full thoughts still to be posted.

Pick of the Month: The Hound of the Baskervilles

The beginning of the month was slow for me but my reading improved near the end and I did really enjoy all that I read. Near the end of the month I also started reading the mysterious Lamp Black, Wolf Grey by Paula Brackston.

In November I am looking forward to Bonfire night and more nights snuggled up with a good book.

What did you do and read in October? Any plans for November?

10 thoughts on “Goodbye October, Hello November 2015

  1. I love your pick of the month. I think I’ve already mentioned that I’m considering changing my classics list – I’ve done abysmally this year although I am reading two books off their which just need to be finished. Thinking of maybe doing a couple of rereads which will give me a chance to see if I still feel the same about some of my ‘beloved of old’ books!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn. Adding some re-reads to your Classics Club sounds like it is worth a try. I was careful to make sure I had a good mixture of short, long, adult and children’s classics which seems to helped me keep reading.

  2. Oh I hope you feel better soon! Sinus infection is horrible. I really like the sound of the Mary Stewart book, she goes on my list! Happy reading in November!

  3. Can’t wait to see what you have to say about The Hound of the Baskervilles. I’ve never read an of the Holmes books but feel like I might enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

