Adaptations: November 2015 (1)

Adaptations #2

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adapted films and TV series I have watched so far this month:

The Four Musketeers (1974)          Read     Film     Television
Swashbuckling sequel to the 1973 film and based on the 2nd half of Alexandre Dumas’ classic novel. The famous musketeers must help their young friend D’Artagnan evade the vengeful plans of the deadly Lady de Winter. I grew up watching these wonderful films and this was a fun and colourful re-watch. I have a real soft spot for Athos and I think Oliver Reid is still my favourite. Great watch.

Lewis (S9 – 2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
Series 9 of ITV’s long-running detective drama and spin-off from the ever-popular Inspector Morse series, based on Colin Dexter’s crime novels. Detectives Lewis and Hathaway take on three more interesting cases: ‘One for Sorrow’, ‘Magnum Opus’ and ‘What Lies Tangled’, all in the beautiful setting of Oxford. I have grown up watching Morse and Lewis, and this was another comforting series and great chemistry between the main characters. Good watch.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover (2015)          Not Read     TV Film     Television
BBC costume drama, based on D H Lawrence’s novel, part of the BBC’s 20th-century literary adaptations series. Lady Chatterley’s husband comes back from war a different man. Now trapped in an unfulfilling marriage she begins an illicit affair. A beautiful series, a touching story and a strong ensemble cast. However, I haven’t read the book, a friend tells me they have changed the ending. Good watch.

Wild (2014)          Not Read     Film     Television
Powerful, true-life drama based on Cheryl Strayed’s memoir Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail. Since the death of her mother Cheryl’s life has gone off the rails so she sets off on an epic and harrowing 1,000 mile walk to find herself, along the Pacific Crest Trail. I thought this was a really moving and inspiring film, with stunning visuals, and excellent performances from Reese Witherspoon and Laura Dern. Great watch.

Spectre (2015)          Not Read     Film     Cinema
The 24th James Bond thriller, starring Daniel Craig, based on Ian Fleming’s Bond characters. Agent 007 is forced to go rogue to take down Spectre, a dangerous international organisation, who are always watching and listening. The leader of which is an old nemesis. Amazing drama, special effects, fight sequences and cast. Great watch.

November has been a brilliant month for old classics and exciting new releases, and the month’s not even over yet! I am very close to finishing Sky’s new series Zoo (James Patterson) and I am well into the BBC’s amazing new series The Last Kingdom (Bernard Cornwell).

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

12 thoughts on “Adaptations: November 2015 (1)

  1. I love Lewis and Morse. I’m the same as you and grew up with these programmes, especially as my mum loves a detective drama. They are brilliant. I hope you get a chance to see Far From the Madding Crowd soon as it’s lovely.

  2. I haven’t seen any of these adaptations – need to work on that.
    I will definitely be going to see the Bond movie – glad to hear you enjoyed that one.
    Lynn 😀

  3. It sounds like you’re having a great month for adaptations so far! I’ve been to see Spectre at the cinema too and enjoyed it, even though I’m not usually a big James Bond fan.

    1. Helen, I must agree I am having a great month for adaptations and still plenty more to come 🙂 I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Spectre especially as your not usually a James Bond fan, that really says something.

  4. Here in the States, PBS has just finished showing Home Fires, adapted from Julie Summers book, Jambusters, about Britain’s Women’s Institute during WWII. It was an absolutely wonderful production I thought, though I was not familiar with the book. That will be remedied since I have just ordered it!

    Big Inspector Lewis fan, here, too, and hope to see more!

    1. Hello Laurie, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 Always lovely to hear from a new face and a fellow Lewis fan! I haven’t heard of Home Fires but I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it. I hope you enjoy the book too.

  5. You have inspired me to watch more film adaptations of books I have read and liked. Coming up for me are Madame Bovary, Wolf Hall, Dracula (I am reading the book for a reading group this week), Far From the Madding Crowd (because Carmen gave it a rave review) and The Makioka Sisters which I read a couple weeks ago.

    1. Judy I am so pleased to hear I have inspired you to watch more adaptations 🙂 I recently enjoyed the BBC’s adaptation of Wolf Hall and one of my favourite films is Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992/3), starring Gary Oldham. I would also like to see the new adaptation of Far From the Madding Crowd. Happy adaptation watching!

Leave a Reply

