Challenge: What’s in a Name 2016

What's in a Name 2016

This is the ninth annual What’s In A Name challenge – hosted this coming year by Charlie at The Worm Hole. I haven’t taken part before but I have been tempted, and at last I decided that 2016 would finally be the year. The challenge runs from January to December next year. During this time I will need to read one book from each of the following categories (in brackets are the books I own that I’m considering reading for each category):

  • A country (The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson)
  • An item of clothing (The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas)
  • An item of furniture (The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit)
  • A profession (The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King)
  • A month of the year (??)
  • A title with the word ‘tree’ in it (The Fruit of the Tree by Edith Wharton)

‘Mask’ might be stretching it for an item of clothing, but Charlie did say creativity for matching the categories is encouraged! Books can be any format (print, audio, e-book); books cannot overlap categories; and it’s preferred that the books don’t overlap with other challenges. Although not a requirement, I am pleased to have found books that I want to read that are not already covered by any other challenges. Otherwise I can read what I want in what order I want.

Any suggestions for what book I could read which has a month in the title? Are you taking part in this challenge in 2016?

16 thoughts on “Challenge: What’s in a Name 2016

  1. Mask is a great choice!
    Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim for a month?
    I may join in this challenge too & I’ve been looking for a good reason to reread EA….:-)

    1. Thank you Brona 🙂 I really do want to read The Man in the Iron Mask so I am pleased that people think it fits the category. And thank you, you are the second person to recommend Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim – I will definitely have to check it out.

  2. Oh 2016 plans, time flies 🙂 That’s such a fun challenge, enjoy! I’ve not yet read that particular Wharton, it sounds really good. A book for the month category…can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  3. Good luck with this! I’ve taken part in this challenge a few times in the past but haven’t decided yet whether to join in again next year or not. I’m pleased to see The Phoenix and the Carpet and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice on your list as I enjoyed both of those books. 🙂

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 It is comforting to hear you enjoyed two of the books I am considering reading. I particularly want to read The Beekeeper’s Apprentice as I have heard good things about it and it has been on TBR for too long!

  4. I struggled a bit finding a ‘month’ book but found The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim. I also wondered about counting A Month in the Country by J L Carr for either the month or the country categories. Would that be stretching too far? I think ‘mask’ is OK as it is something worn!

    1. Thank you Margaret it is nice to hear that someone agrees that mask would be okay. As I would really like to read The Man in the Iron Mask after enjoying The Three Musketeers this year. I think A Month in the Country by J L Carr could be an inspired choice for the month category 🙂

Leave a Reply

