Challenge: Book to Movie 2016

Book to Movie Challenge 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, if you read this blog regularly you will know I love my adaptations and so it is really a no-brainer that I should take part in The Book to Movie Challenge in 2016 – created and hosted by ebookclassics. The guidelines are:

  • You can join at any time.
  • Neither the book nor the movie has to be new in 2016.
  • TV shows and mini-series count.
  • Comic book and graphic novel adaptations count.
  • Active participation in the challenge is required to qualify for prizes.

I do monthly adaptation posts on the film, TV and theatre adaptations I have watched already; so I feel confident this ‘challenge’ will be a simple and fun event for me to take part in. To sign-up all you need to do is post an introduction post where you name 3 adaptations you are looking forward to. Here are the 2016 adaptations I am looking forward too:

  1. Inferno (2016) – I read Inferno by Dan Brown this year and loved it! I am looking forward to seeing the adventures of Professor Robert Langdon continue on the screen and I think Tom Hanks makes a great Langdon. I am particularly looking forward to the settings and history of Florence, Venice and Istanbul.
  2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016) – I read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J K Rowling years ago! It is only a small accompaniment book to Rowling’s epic Harry Potter series, but I am just so excited about another story from this wonderful, magical world – plus they’ve cast Eddie Redmayne which I love!
  3. Allegiant (2016) – I have literally just finished reading Allegiant, the final instalment in Veronica Roth’s dystopian, young adult series; and what an ending! I can’t wait to see how it translates to the big screen. Shailene Woodley and Theo James will be reprising their roles, and Jeff Daniels will be joining them as a new character too.

I am really looking forward to taking part in this challenge and seeing what great adaptations I will watch next year.

What adaptations are you looking forward to seeing in 2016?

9 thoughts on “Challenge: Book to Movie 2016

  1. This truly is the perfect challenge for you, so thank you for joining me! I’m so excited about Fantastic Beasts and Allegiant, but I had no idea Inferno was being made into a movie. I’m listening to The Lost Symbol audio book right now.

    1. You’re very welcome – thank you for hosting the perfect challenge for me 🙂 Inferno is already made! It was due to release last year but they didn’t want it to clash with Spectre or Star Wars: The Force Awakens so they postponed it to 2016…I’ve been waiting a long time!

  2. I want to see both Brooklyn and Carol – I’ve read the first book, but not the second. I’ve been enjoying reading some of the books of favourite classic films recently – Psycho, The Maltese Falcon etc. I shall think about the challenge… it sounds quite fun! Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 I have seen trailers for both Brooklyn and Carol – they both have such a beautiful, vintage look. I didn’t realise they were adaptations though. Whether you take part in this or not I hope you enjoy the adaptations you watch next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

