New Read: Allegiant

Allegiant

Earlier this year I read and enjoyed Divergent  and Insurgent by Veronica Roth; from her popular dystopian, young adult series. In November I picked up the 3rd and final book, Allegiant, to finish reading the series. (This post may contain spoilers for the previous books).

Allegiant returns us to post-apocalyptic Chicago, USA which, for many generations, has been ruled by a faction system based on traits. Abnegation for selflessness, Amity for peace, Candor for honesty, Dauntless for bravery, and Erudite for intelligence. Now that system has been forcefully removed by an uprising of the factionless; while it liberates some it is also extremely upsetting for many who have never known anything different. Tris and her fellow divergents have fought for freedom from oppression but not so one forced system could be replaced with another. So Tris joins a secretive group, the Allegiant, who plan to leave the city to seek help from the creators.

This is a confusing, emotional and dangerous time for Tris and her boyfriend Tobias; whom the narration switches between. After the loss of more friends there is the initial elation at stopping Janine and releasing the truth; but then the shock and anger as the factionless, led my Tobias’ long-lost mother, force the people into an equally oppressive regime. Tris is a strong and kind character who is prone to reckless/selfless acts. Which leaves poor Tobias torn between his mother and protecting the girl he loves. Now their hopes and the future of the city rest on them finding the people outside of the city.

I thought this was another taut and immersive adventure, set in a well written and visualised dystopian world. I enjoyed discovering what the world was like outside of the city and what had happened in the past to bring this all about. Roth keeps the tension high as we follow Tris, Tobias and their allies as they seek help from the outside world… only to find that those outside have their own issues of segregation and rebellions too! Tris and Tobias’ relationship is put to the final, extreme test as they find themselves drawn to different causes to reach their final goals. This was a roller-coaster of a read with many twists, turns and shocks; and don’t get me started about the end! Shocking! But I loved that it didn’t have the obvious ‘happy’ ending.

Even though Allegiant is much longer it was another taut and fast read for me. I recommend to those who enjoy dystopian, young adult novels. I will now have to patiently wait for the film. I am interested to see how it will translate to the screen. Let’s all pray they don’t make it into two films! Great read.

Have you read this? Or watched the films? Do you enjoy dystopian novels and films?

6 thoughts on “New Read: Allegiant

  1. I really enjoyed the first so I’m always surprised at myself for not continuing – one day – it’s on my unfinished series list anyway so I will eventually complete it.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I wasn’t a fan of Insurgent, but I enjoyed Allegiant and I know the ending was controversial, but I thought it was quite fitting. I have to admit I get a little confused between what I’ve seen in the movies and what I’ve read, but overall I thought this was a great series. Have you read The Hunger Games series? I haven’t, but feel like I should to compare.

    1. I quite agree this did have a fitting ending! Yes I have read The Hunger Games – I thought it was a dark, gritty and gripping series. Book 1 and 2 I loved, however I did find book 3 was weaker. I have also enjoyed the films – even though they split the last book into two films. I recommend you give both the books and films a go 🙂

  3. I too love these books. Looks like I have until March to read Allegiant. Your review answered some questions I had from the end of Insurgent without any spoilers. Good job!

Leave a Reply

