Adaptations: December 2015

Adaptations #3

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I have watched during December and over the Christmas holiday:

The Leftovers (S2 – 2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
American drama with a science-fiction twist, based on Tom Perrotta’s novel. It is now 4 years after the global, ‘Rapture’ like, event where 140 million people inexplicably disappeared. The Garvey family move to the mysterious Jarden to make a fresh start; a miraculous place where no one disappeared…before. A twisting and surprising plot which I enjoyed even more than S1. Great watch.

The Last Kingdom (2015)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
An epic, new historical drama on the BBC, based on Bernard Cornwell’s Saxon novels. The Vikings are sweeping across England and now only the kingdom of Wessex stands in their way. We see the drama unfold from the eyes of Uhtred; the orphaned son of a Saxon nobleman who was raised as a Viking. I thought this was an amazing show: with stunning cinematography, great acting, and gritty realism. I am pleased there will be a 2nd series! Great watch.

Jason and the Argonauts (1963)          Read     Film     Television
Classic, fantasy epic following the mythological Greek hero Jason and his fighting Argonauts. See Jason take on the giant Talos, flying harpies, the clashing rocks, the Hydra, and skeletal warriors to win the golden fleece. I have fond memories of growing up with this film so I am pleased to have found it back on this Christmas. I think those skeletal warriors are still so cool. Classic re-watch.

Rise of the Guardians (2012)          Not Read     Film     Television
Fantasy animated film for all the family based on The Guardians of Childhood books by William Joyce. Pitch Black is trying to spread fear and darkness so the Guardians; Santa Claus, Easter Bunny, Tooth Fairy and Sandman rise with the help of Jack Frost to stop him. A sweet film which passed a lovely, lazy Sunday afternoon leading up to Christmas. Okay watch.

Leading up to and during Christmas I have enjoyed re-watching some classic, comfort films. Those films that are just perfect to pop on in the background as you wrap presents or to snuggle down to with the family. These for me have included Pride and Prejudice (2005) and several of the Harry Potter films, which added to the above films and TV shows makes my total for December: 9 adaptations!

I am not currently watching any adapted series but I am looking forward to starting Sleepy Hollow (S3) and the BBC’s new period drama Dickensian, which is chock full of our favourite Dickens’ characters. Plus the films Cinderella (2015) and Exodus: Gods and Kings (2014) have finally premiered on Sky – I can’t wait to watch both!

What have you watched recently? Is there anything you’re looking forward to seeing in 2016?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: December 2015

  1. I love that Jason and the Argonauts film – I know it’s dated in terms of effects these days but I just don’t care – I’d much sooner watch that than a remake any day! Love it!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn I am pleased to hear you love this film too 😀 The effects are dated but I think it was ground-breaking in its day and those stop-motion skeletons are still cool. I would be heartbroken if they remade this film!

    1. I watched The Last Kingdom on BBC2, but it finished some time a go. Probably best to see if you can get the TV box set either on DVD or through a download service; unless it is shown on another channel sometime next year.

  2. I loved this version of Cinderella (2015). It is well acted and plain beautiful. I bought a miniseries titled The Odyssey, which hopefully I’ll watch before the end of the year.

  3. Just tonight my husband and I finished watching the HBO adaptation of J K Rowling’s Casual Vacancy. I have read and enjoyed the book and thought the three episodes covered the story well.

    1. Judy I am pleased to hear you enjoyed The Casual Vacancy and that you felt it covered the story well. I watched it earlier this year but I haven’t read the book to compare it with.

Leave a Reply

