Goodbye December 2015

December 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well and had a wonderful Christmas? I spent most of December buying gifts, writing cards, wrapping gifts; attending Christmas performances, special church services and Christmas parties; and didn’t it all fly by so quickly?! I then headed to the south coast to spend a couple of days and Christmas day with my mother, step-father, brother and Dandi the dog. I was lucky enough to receive some lovely bookish Christmas gifts and spent some quality time with my family.

While I have been very busy I did get to spend some down-time reading or watching films/television snuggled up in a blanket. December has been a bumper adaptations month and here are the books I’ve finished:

Fiction: 2     Non-Fiction: 0     Poetry: 0

I started the month off by finishing the children’s classic The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit, off my Classics Club list. A charming and comforting moral tale, which was perfect for the lead up to Christmas. Next I read the epic, historical fiction Kingmaker: Broken Faith by Toby Clements, the 2nd book in Clements’ Kingmaker series – I read the previous book Winter Pilgrims last year. My full thoughts on both of these are still to be posted.

Pick of the Month: The Railway Children

Only 2 novels completed but I have been reading a lot more; I just seem to have been reading some real chunksters. I have been reading Shadow of Night, the 2nd book in Deborah Harkness’ supernatural All Souls trilogy; and Christian memoir Out of Darkness by Stormie Omartian. In December I also took part in The Classics Club’s 11th Spin which randomly chose David Copperfield by Charles Dickens for me. I had to start it almost immediately and over Christmas it has dominated my reading time.

In January and the new year I am looking forward to catching up on my reviews, finishing off some of these chunky books and starting a new term at work. Plus I have my birthday to look forward to.

What did you do and read in December? How was your Christmas? What are your plans for January?

17 thoughts on “Goodbye December 2015

  1. I love E Nesbit. I have read the series with Five Children and It, etc. She portrays children so well. One of these days I will read the Railway Children. Somehow I missed that when I was a kid.

    1. Judy I am pleased to hear you love Edith Nesbit and enjoyed the Psammead series. I have Five Children and It on my Classics Club which I am really looking forward to reading. If I enjoy it I hope to read the rest of the series too 🙂

  2. Over the holidays I’ve been doing some light reading, books that I’ve had waiting on my shelf for the right moment — including The Town in Bloom by Dodie Smith, Linnets and Valerians by Elizabeth Goudge, and Something Fresh by PG Wodehouse. I’m planning to get more serious in January as I read To the Lighthouse for Heavenali’s Woolfalong. Thanks for being one of the top commenters on my blog this year, I appreciate it! 🙂 Have a very happy new year.

    1. Lory some light reading over the holidays sounds like a great idea – I wish I’d done that! I hope you enjoy delving back into some more serious reading, with To the Lighthouse for Heavenali’s Woolfalong.

      How exciting that I’m one of your top commenters. You’re very welcome – you have such a lovely blog. And a Happy New Year to you too 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a great Christmas! I’m looking forward to reading some of the books Santa brought me, and will be joining in Ali’s #Woolfalong with Mrs Dalloway in January. Have a lovely New Year!

    1. I did have a great Christmas, thank you 🙂 It is good to hear you received some bookish gifts too – I hope you enjoy them and Mrs Dalloway for Ali’s #Woolfalong. I have never read anything by Woolf so I will be interested to see what people think of her works.

  4. Sounds like you had a lovely Christmas, enjoy all your new books! 🙂 I’m on to the second one of mine, but spend most of Christmas with the family, rather than reading.

    Have a wonderful start to the new year, Jessica 🙂

  5. Happy New Year. I’ve read quite a lot during December and I too received some bookish gifts. January will see the start of my #Woolfalong so the first book of the year will be To the Lighthouse.

    1. Thank you Ali – Happy New Year to you too 🙂 It is good to hear you kept your reading up in December and received some bookish gifts too – I hope you enjoy them and To the Lighthouse.

Leave a Reply

