Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

Blog 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, Happy New Year! It is time to say goodbye to 2015 and hello to 2016. Let’s end the year with a few reading stats:

Books Read: 62           New Reads: 57              Re-Reads: 5

Fiction: 41                Non-Fiction: 21             Poetry: 0

In 2014 I finished 56 books so I am up this year! The lack of studying and coursework, and a steady job have definitely helped. I also managed to up my re-read and non-fiction reading. Now for some fun meme categories to help me reflect on what I’ve been reading in 2015:

  • Best Fiction Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier and Inferno by Dan Brown.
  • Best Non-Fiction Elizabeth I and Her Circle by Susan Doran.
  • Best Classic The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle.
  • Best Re-ReadThe Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien, although Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett was a worthy runner-up.
  • Best Series You Discovered Divergent by Veronica Roth, the All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness, and Beyond the Tales by Cheryl Mahoney.
  • Favourite New-To-Me Authors – Frances Hodgson Burnett, Cheryl Mahoney, Edith Nesbit, Jessie Burton, Veronica Roth and Susan Doran.
  • Most Memorable Character – The honest and loyal Samwise Gamgee from The Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien.
  • Most Read Genre – Fantasy (17) and Classics/Modern Classics (16).
  • Multiple Reads of an Author – Mark Black (3), Devin Brown (2), Arthur Conan Doyle (3), Susanna Kearsley (2), Cheryl Mahoney (2), Terry Pratchett (2), Veronica Roth (3), J R R Tolkien (3).
  • Ambitions for 2016: I hope to continue to make good progress through my Classics Club list, as I will be going into my final year! I would also like to continue to make time for re-reads and favourite authors.

Coming up I have some more in-depth posts looking into my favourite books and adaptations of 2015.

How was 2015 for you? What are your aims for 2016?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

  1. Awesome, Jessica! And I love that you’ve been able to pick a firm favourite, it’s quite the recommendation. Looking forward to seeing your progression with your classics list (I like that we can extend the time if need be!)

    1. Thank you 🙂 I usually find it really hard to pick a firm favourite; 1. these were great reads and 2. I found it easier breaking best book down into a few categories e.g. fiction, classic and non-fiction. As for the Classics Club I would really like to finish in the 5 years!

  2. Good luck with 2016! I’m going to keep moving forward on my TBR shelf which thankfully has quite a few Classics Club books on it 🙂 (The CC list has been woefully ignored for too long.)

  3. You sound like a happy reader which is as it should be. I was pleased with my year also and will be posting my top favorites on my blog tomorrow. Happy reading in 2016!

  4. I need to make a lot of progress with my Classics Club list this year too, as I’m starting to run out of time! Congratulations on re-reading five books in 2015 – I only managed to re-read one, so that’s something else I would like to improve.

    1. Thank you Helen, I am pleased with my re-reading and I am hoping to continue it in 2016. I hope you are able to make the progress you want with your Classics Club list and re-reading.

  5. Great stats, Jessica, and love the layout. I too want to make more time to read classics, but I don’t think that will be possible in 2016. I already have my reading year planned ahead.

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 I am really pleased with my stats and I thought I’d tweak my layout and categories this year – keep things interesting. I’m sorry to hear you don’t expect much time for more classics this year, but I do hope you enjoy your reading and plan. Happy 2016!

Leave a Reply

