Top 10 Reads of 2015

Blog 2015

Hello my fellow bookworms, 2015 was a great reading year for me where I finished 62 books. It was hard to dwindle it down to 10 but after much thought here are my choices (ordered alphabetically by author):

  1. Inferno by Dan Brown – another gripping thriller that follows Professor Robert Langdon through the history, art and symbols of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. I loved the historical settings of Florence, Venice and Istanbul.
  2. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle – a creepy and atmospheric mystery set out on the foggy, lonely moors with a diabolical hound! A cosy and comforting read which I simply loved.
  3. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – I have fond memories of watching the film as a child. A charming children’s classic with a sweet moral and physical transformation for the little orphan Mary.
  4. Mariana by Susanna Kearsley – a beautiful dual time period novel of life, love and history; all with Kearsley’s comforting, beautiful and familiar writing style.
  5. The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney – a well written, witty and charming adventure that pokes fun lovingly at well-known fairy tale tropes. This was my first read by author and fellow blogger Cheryl.
  6. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier – a dark and gothic historical-tale which had me gripped, fascinated and repulsed in equal measure from the start. I can’t wait to read more by Daphne du Maurier.
  7. The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit – I again have fond memories of watching the film as a child, so this was another charming trip down memory lane and a perfect read in the lead up to Christmas.
  8. Victorian Fairy Tales edited by Michael Newton – an enchanting collection of fairy tales from some well loved classic authors; some of my favourites stories were by William Makepeace Thackeray, George Macdonald, Mary de Morgan and Edith Nesbit.
  9. Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett (re-read) – Pratchett’s madcap and hilarious take on Macbeth, which is a wonderfully theatrical, fun and hilarious adventure; and a really comforting re-read. I’d forgotten how good this was!
  10. The Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien (re-read) – an epic, intricate and enchanting adventure that again swept me off to the stunning, magical Middle-Earth. Re-reading this was like catching up with some old friends; particularly the adorable Samwise Gamgee.

With so many great reads in 2015 honorary mentions must also go to novels: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton, The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle, The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley, The Storyteller and Her Sisters by Cheryl Mahoney, The King’s Sister by Anne O’Brien, The Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart and Allegiant by Veronica Roth. And non-fictions: The Praying Woman’s Devotional by Stormie Omartian, Elizabeth I and Her Circle by Susan Doran, and My Autobiography by Guy Martin.

Have you read any of these? What was your favourite reads of 2015?

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Reads of 2015

  1. I honestly think Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell was one of my favorites this year, if not my favorite. It was written with such restraint and the BBC did such a great adaptation of it!

        1. I will definitely keep it in mind, perhaps need to get down the other large books on my TBR read fist. I’m looking at you City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare and Drood by Dan Simmons!

  2. Yay such a wonderful list! 🙂 I adore the witches! 🙂 I even got my mum to try them. Have you read the Tiffany Aching books? I really loved The We Free Men.
    Here’s to a wonderful 2016, with lots of amazing books! 🙂

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 I am looking forward to reading more Discworld books with the witches in! I recently picked up a copy of Witches Abroad. I sadly haven’t read any of the Tiffany Aching books yet, but we do have a copy of one of them. I hope you have a wonderful 2016 too 😀

  3. I’m so happy you enjoyed The Wanderers (and Storyteller) so much! I also love several of these (2,3,7,9 and 10) and such an array of wonderful books makes me feel I should look into some of these others…especially du Maurier (I love Rebecca!) and the Victorian fairy tales. 🙂

    1. I really enjoyed reading your books so thank you for writing them! I look forward to reading more 😀 If you loved Rebecca I would definitely recommend trying more of du Maurier’s work. Victorian Fairy Tales was also a delightful collection with so many classic authors’ work in it.

  4. That’s a great list! The Secret Garden and The Railway Children were two of my favourite classics as a child, so I’m pleased to see them in your top ten. I’m hoping to read both The Shadowy Horses and Airs Above the Ground in 2016.

  5. Great choices, Jessica. A mix of classics and contemporary fiction is always a good idea. May your 2016 reading year be equally rewarding!

  6. The Secret Garden is one of my favorite books ever! I just love it :). You have a good list here; The Wanderers looks like a fun read, I may check it out sometime this year :).

    1. Hello BJ, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 The Secret Garden is an utterly charming tale which I’m sure will become one of my favourites too. I would urge you to try The Wanderers as I thought it was delightful…and has a talking cat in it 😀

Leave a Reply

