New Books: Christmas Treats 2015

Christmas Treats #1

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Year. I have already discussed the bookish Christmas presents I received – since that post I have had a belated present and spent some of my Christmas money too. Here’s what I got:

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

During the holidays I made a special trip to a local Cathedral town where my favourite charity bookshop is. There I saw these lovely copies of these two classics. North and South is on my Classics Club list while Mansfield Park I have previously read on my Kindle. I have been on the look out for this cover to add to my Austen collection; I only need Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility now.

Christmas Treats #2

No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy

Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett

On the same trip I picked up the 12th instalment in Terry Pratchett’s hilarious Discworld series. From looking at the title I can see it has my favourite bunch of characters in so I am super excited to read it. Then I received No Country for Old Men from a friend; who I was able to catch up with once I was home after Christmas. I have previously read The Road by McCarthy which I found great if not rather harrowing – I am interested to see what I think of this.

Christmas Treats #3

(Yes, you can see a cat – Bonnie decided to come give my new books a sniff while I was taking the photo)

Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage by M C Beaton

Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist by M C Beaton

Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death by M C Beaton

Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham by M C Beaton

Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden by M C Beaton

Through a combination of The Works and my favourite charity bookshop I got my hands on 5 more instalments (in order) of cosy crime series, Agatha Raisin, by M C Beaton; now I have 9 I can read in a row!

Have you read anything by these authors? What new books have you got your hands on recently?

19 thoughts on “New Books: Christmas Treats 2015

  1. I’ve read Gaskell’s Cranford, but not North and South, which is my Classics Club list to read along with Wives and Daughters and Mary Barton. It would be good to read those this year – I should concentrate more on the classics.

    I’ve only read a couple of the Agatha Raisin books and didn’t take to them, although I know that other people love them. Maybe I should have another go?

    1. Margaret I hope we both have chance to read North and South this year then 🙂 I’m not sure what to recommend about Agatha Raisin – I read 4 of them a couple of years ago now and I thought they were fun and comforting reads but not ground breaking. Did you read from the start of the series? I am looking forward to reading them from the start and in sequence for 9 books!

  2. I’ve read Gaskell’s Cranford and Wives and Daughters, but not North and South, though I have seen the BBC adaptation of the latter.
    I listened to Mansfield Park on audio this past summer. I loved Austen’s writing but Fanny is not as accessible a heroine as some of the other Austen protagonists.
    I read The Road many years ago and have never read another McCarthy though I liked The Road overall. I always hear about how violent McCarthy’s books are, which makes me a little leery of them.

    1. Christy I have never read anything by Gaskell before and I am also looking forward to reading Cranford and Wives and Daughters soon, as they are both on my Classics Club list too. You have scared me a little about No Country for Old Men, as I’m not a huge fan of violence, but hopefully after already having read The Road I should be okay. I also agree about Fanny – I found her rather self-deprecating which I find a little annoying. She is overall nice but not my favourite Austen heroine.

      1. I saw from one of your comment replies that you saw the film for No Country for Old Men, so you probably know what you are getting into re: violence more than me. (I haven’t seen the film.)

  3. That’s a beautiful edition of Mansfield Park. North and South was one of my favorite reads a few years ago… you are in for a treat! I’m hoping to read Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters this year. I enjoy Agatha Raisin books, too, but have only read the first two. Enjoy all you new books!

    1. Thank you, I am looking forward to North and South even more now! I haven’t read anything by Gaskell before. I hope you enjoy Wives and Daughters just as much. I love these beautiful editions of Austen’s novels by Headline: Review they are a little hard to find though, so you can imagine how excited I was to find this. And finally I have 4 of the Agatha Raisin books before however I got them from the library which made my reading a little fragmented – I am really looking forward to reading so many of the books in a row.

  4. Lovely book haul. Hope you enjoy your goodies.
    I love your best of list – some absolutely marvellous books on there. It quite makes me want to go and dig out my copies – especially Doyle and DuMaurirer.
    Lynn 😀

  5. There is nothing better than new books in the house, even though I have so many already. The only new book I acquired last week was The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner, a memoir about a girl who grew up in a polygamist family. I belong to a book subscription called The Nervous Breakdown Book Club from which I get a book once a month. It is always a surprise and usually the books are by new writers and/or from Indie presses, so off the beaten track.

    1. Judy, I know what you mean. I always think my TBR pile is huge, especially on my Kindle where they so easily build up almost invisibly because you don’t have a physical book on a pile. I like the sound of your book club – we all like a surprise gift 🙂

  6. Nice haul! I haven’t read No Country for Old Men but the film blew me away – very violent but in context. I’m hoping to get around to reading more McCarthy this year, having thoroughly enjoyed (maybe not the right word) The Road last year.

    1. Thank you, I am really pleased with this haul. I have also seen the film adaptation of No Country for Old Men but it was a few years ago now and if I’m honest I don’t remember a great deal about the story. So reading this book will probably be like a new story for me. And I know exactly what you mean about ‘enjoyed’ perhaps being the wrong word for The Road 🙂

  7. I love that cover of the Jane Austen book! I treated myself to a brand new edition of Middlemarch for Christmas; I can’t wait to read it. I’ve read No Country for Old Men, and if you liked On the Road, then I am sure you will like this one as well.

    1. TJ I love these Austen covers by Headline: Review – they can be a little difficult to find though, so I so excited to find this! And thank you it is nice to hear from someone who has read No Country for Old Men I am intrigued to read it.

  8. Yes to cozy reads, it’s so grey and rainy over here! The Austen books have such wonderful covers! I’ve read his On the Road and you’re right, it was harrowing! But good. The Agatha Raisin books are such fun quick reads, I’ve read a couple of them. Only the romance aspect got on my nerves a bit. Have you read her Hamish books? Those are wonderfully cozy, too 🙂

    1. Bina it has also been grey and rainy here too! I am really looking forward to some cosy reading; particularly these Agatha Raisin books. I haven’t read any of Beaton’s Hamish books. I have seen them about but I thought it best to keep to one series at a time. I would like to read them in the future.

Leave a Reply

