Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (January)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature EventHello my fellow bookworms and classic lovers, it is time already for the first check-in for The Women’s Classic Literature Event. I decided to start taking part straight away, so I’ve had a month or so head start and here’s what I managed to read so far:

  1. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
  2. The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

I started off with a pre-set list of sorts as I have simply taken the great female authors and their works I still have to read off my Classics Club list; which is where The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit came from. I also had Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier and two of her other novels on my TBR pile which I thought would be perfect for this event. So as I find suitable reads for this event I am happy to just add them too.

Now it is time for our first group question which is: “Without revealing spoilers (obviously), describe how the opening of your current read for this event draws you in. Is it the language? the suspense? the voice? Why are you compelled to keep reading?”

I’m not currently reading a book for this event so I am going to use my most recent read that began with:

“They were not railway children to begin with. I don’t suppose they had ever thought railways except as a means of getting to Maskelyne and Cook’s, the Pantomime, Zoological Gardens, and Madame Tussaud’s. They were just ordinary suburban children, and they lived with their Father and Mother in an ordinary red-brick-fronted villa…” The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

Isn’t it just so charming? And while I have never read the book before this was also like a trip down memory lane for me; as I grew up watching the 1970 film with my mother. Just like any beloved story I was instantly comfortable with the story and wanted that feeling to continue. My full thoughts on this will be posted soon.

Have you read any of these? What have you been reading for the event?

2 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (January)

  1. I read Jamaica Inn way back when I was a teenager and loved it, but I’ve never read The Railway Children. This sounds like a fun event and something completely doable for me as I normally only read women authors anyway!

    1. Anbolyn I think this event would be perfect for you 🙂 I would also recommend The Railway Children. I thought it was utterly charming and my full thoughts on it will be posted tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

