A Sad & Fond Farewell to Two Bright Stars

Farewell #1

I was shocked and sad when I learnt that David Bowie had passed away at just 69 years old, after a 18 month battle with cancer. Bowie will be remembered as a great singer, songwriter and actor, but perhaps even more importantly as being brave enough to say and show that it is cool to be different! I love his music and I also have very fond memories of him as the goblin king in Labyrinth (1986); my favourite film from my childhood.

Farewell #2

Then only yesterday I was shocked and sad again when I heard that Alan Rickman had passed away at just 69 years old, after also suffering with cancer. Alan Rickman is perhaps most loved for his role as Professor Snape in the Harry Potter films, he was also the suave and dastardly Sheriff of Nottingham in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991), however I think I will most cherish his charming performance as Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility (1995).

All my love and condolences goes out to their families and friends at this sad time.

What will you most remember David Bowie and/or Alan Rickman for?

8 thoughts on “A Sad & Fond Farewell to Two Bright Stars

  1. Isn’t this an incredibly sad week? I will miss Bowie’s musical genius and Alan Rickman’s amazing warm-you-like-hot-chocolate voice. I’m so sad that they are both gone.

    1. Hello Lark, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It really has been a sad week. You are so right about Rickman’s ‘warm-you-like-hot-chocolate voice’; brilliant description!

  2. I never got to know Bowie, but I was crazy about Rickman’s performances. You’re right; who can forget professor Snape or Colonel Brandon?

  3. Sad news indeed! Bowie was my major idol in my late teens, back in the day, and Alan Rickman has been one of my favourite actors for decades. I feel almost as if I’ve lost two old friends. Lovely tribute – thank you!

Leave a Reply

