Adaptations: January 2016 (1)

Adaptations #3

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are the adaptations I have enjoyed recently:

Tangled (2010)          Read     Film     Television
Disney’s animated, musical-adventure inspired by the German fairy tale Rapunzel by the Brothers Grimm. Rapunzel escapes from her tower to follow her dream to see the golden lanterns, never realising they are calling her home. A colourful and funny tale with sweet songs and a hilarious cast of characters; my favourite is Pascal the chameleon. Good watch.

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016)          Read     TV Film     Television
The cast of the BBC’s amazing, modern series take a trip back in time for a mystery on the foggy, lamp-lit streets of Victorian London; based on the works of Arthur Conan Doyle. Mystery, ghosts, murder, dark humour and the brilliant chemistry of Cumberbatch and Freeman; what’s not to love? Great watch.

From Russia with Love (1963)          Not Read     Film     Television
The second James Bond thriller, starring Sean Connery, based on Ian Fleming’s fifth Bond novel. Spectre lures Bond to Turkey with a beautiful, defecting Soviet clerk, where they hope to have their revenge. I enjoyed the historic setting of Istanbul, the glamorous adventure, and Connery is one of my favourite Bonds. Good watch.

Exodus: Gods and Kings (2014)          Read     Film     Television
A stunning, star-studded biblical epic from legendary director Ridley Scott. In beautiful, touching and gritty detail we get to see the life of Moses, the 10 plagues of Egypt, the exodus of the Jews, and finally the awe-inspiring parting of the Red Sea. I loved how Scott brought the glory of Ancient Egypt and this dramatic story back to life; with strong performances from Christian Bale (Moses) and Joel Edgerton (Ramses). Great watch.

Alongside these I also enjoyed re-watches of Oz the Great and Powerful (2013) and the cool classic Jurassic Park (1993), which takes my total so far up to 6; a great start to the year! I always find this time of the year is the best for adaptations especially costume drama ones, so I am particularly looking forward to starting the BBC’s new dramas Dickensian (Charles Dickens) and War and Peace (Leo Tolstoy).

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

10 thoughts on “Adaptations: January 2016 (1)

  1. Great post! I was going to watch Exodus at Christmas, but watched Cinderella instead. Have you been watching War and Peace? I’ve watched two episodes and like it so far.

    1. Thank you 🙂 We did the opposite – I am hoping to watch Cinderella soon. I have War and Peace recorded but haven’t started watching it yet, so I am pleased to hear you’re enjoying it so far.

  2. I liked Tangled a great deal, as well as Oz the Great and Powerful and Jurassic Park. The first two I reviewed on my blog. I haven’t watched Exodus but it’s on my list to be watched at some point. I’m almost done with 2013 releases and I’m making some progress on 2015 releases, though not so much on 2014 ones.

Leave a Reply

