New Books: January 2016

New Books - January

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s the goodies I’ve managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

My father has just finished reading this and passed it straight on to me. We have both enjoyed all of the Robert Langdon adventures, but we seemed to have missed this one out. I’m hoping to read this really soon.

The Hairy Dieters by Si King & Dave Myers

I already have book 2 and 3 of this cookbook series, from the nation’s beloved ‘Hairy Biker’ chefs, and for about a year I have been keeping my eyes peeled for this original book; that accompanied the TV show. When I saw this for only £4 it had to be bought! I am not looking to lose weight particularly but I love how down to earth and well balanced these recipes are.

A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Monstrous Little Voices edited by David Thomas Moore
(including stories by Jonathan Barnes, Emma Newman, Kate Heartfield, Foz Meadows and Adrian Tchaikovsky)

Then I received these two fantasy novellas and Shakespearian short story collection from Netgalley. I heard good things about A Reaper of Stone over at BooksbyProxy so when I spotted it was available to read now I went for it; and then I was successfully in requesting the next instalment Broken Banners at the same time. I was also sorely tempted by Monstrous Little Voices too then I heard great things about it from Lynn at her blog after which I just had to go back to request it!

Have you read anything by these authors? What new books have you got your hands on recently?

22 thoughts on “New Books: January 2016

  1. I read The Da Vinci Code before all the hype and really enjoyed it. I also read ‘Secrets of the Code: the Unauthorised Guide to the Mysteries behind The Da Vinci Code’ edited by Dan Burstein, which is fascinating – but very long and detailed. I hope you enjoy the book. I’d love to re-read it sometime.

  2. I read a few by Dan Brown and thought they were pretty good. The do get a bit over hyped I suppose – and he definitely has a love of ending each chapter with a revelation. But, they’re very entertaining stories.
    I hope you enjoy the Monstrous book – I loved it and in fact I’m still thinking about it now.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I particularly remember a lot of hype and controversy around The Da Vinci Code when it came, which definitely played a part in me missing it out. I agree though these are really entertaining stories and I often love the settings. And thank you I am really looking forward to reading Monstrous Little Voices; especially if you’re still thinking about it! 😀

  3. I really hope you enjoy the novellas!! I’ve just finished reading Faith and Moonlight and that didn’t disappoint either! I also have Monstrous Little Voices to read. Anything with a bit of Adrian Tchaikovsky in it will always get my vote!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I also spotted Faith and Moonlight but wasn’t sure if I should go for that too; not having read any of the others. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it and I hope we can both get round to Monstrous Little Voices soon!

      1. Well being short and sweet I’m sure you can get it based on whether you like these ones or not! They definitely won’t take you long!

        I hope so too! I’m very excited to read it 😀

  4. How fun! I haven’t read any of these books yet – you’ll have to tell us how you liked them! I’m binging the Divergent series these days; I’m finally on book three!

    1. Hello Karen, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 It is always lovely to hear from a new face! I hope to get round to these soon so I can share with you what I think. I enjoyed Veronica Roth’s Divergent series last year. I am pleased to hear you’re enjoying it too and I think the last book was my favourite of them all 😀

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I’ve never thought about reviewing a cookbook. It is a nice idea but I suppose you could be waiting a long time as I dip in and out of cookbooks as and when I fancy a new recipe. Instead of reading it from start to finish as you would a novel.

  5. Like everyone else, I’m surprised you missed The Da Vinci Code! I enjoyed it when I read it a long time ago. As for what I’ve got, I’ve spent quite a bit on professional development books recently and I don’t really know why. Hopefully, I’ll actually read them!

    1. Geoff, I do remember a lot of hype and controversy when The Da Vinci Code came out, and that general puts me off books. I saw the film when it came out and enjoyed it, after that my friend lent me Angels and Demons which I loved! Since then I have read the books not long after they’ve come out which has consequently seen me miss this. I am looking forward to reading it at last 🙂

      I hope you read your professional development books and find them useful 🙂

  6. I read Da Vinci Code twice. The first time I loved it; the second, I found it way too long. I think it’s by far the best Langdon novel. Dan Brown really set the bar too high with DVC even for himself.

  7. I would think The Da Vinci Code would be the first of Langdon adventure anyone would read! lol I love every minute of that book and maybe I’ll read it again when I am retired! I remember when I first read it, I couldn’t put it down.

    1. JoV this is perhaps the best known but actually the first Robert Langdon novel is Angels and Demons which I have read. I have seen the film adaptation of The Da Vinci Code and enjoyed it. Looking forward to reading the book especially as so many people seem to have loved it afterwards I hope to enjoy a re-watch of the film.

Leave a Reply

