New Read: Out of Darkness

Out of Darkness

As a practicing Christian I like to read Christian literature to help with the growth of my faith and to hear what other Christians have to say. My first faith read for 2016 is Stormie Omartian’s memoir Out of Darkness: My Story of Finding True Light and Liberation.

I first discovered Stormie Omartian in 2014 and I have read pretty much everything by her I have been able to get my hands on since. This has included The Power of a Praying Woman, Choose Love, The Praying Woman’s Devotional and a short study guide addition of Prayer Warrior. I have found everything I have read by Omartian beautiful and inspiring, so when I saw this memoir I was intrigued to find out what had inspired her to write these wonderful books; which have become best sellers all over the world and have touched the lives of so many women from so many different backgrounds.

The truth is a lot of hardship and prayer has inspired her to write these books. Omartian became a Christian later in life after suffering child abuse, debilitating anxiety, a traumatising abortion, a failed marriage, and after dabbling in drugs and the occult. Her new-found faith and prayer brought her love, peace and forgiveness, however she soon learnt that you should never stop praying. Once remarried and starting a family Omartian found it very important to pray for her pregnancy complications, for her husband’s anger issues, to protect her family from drive by shootings, earthquakes, storms, and later in life her husband’s and her own terrible illnesses. It was after experiencing so much that she felt the calling to write and share.

While this was another well-written, beautiful and inspiring read – it was also a sad, hard and often heart-breaking read too. I was impressed with how candid Omartian was in this memoir; I think writing this was very brave of her. I am so glad she did because it really answered many questions I had about how she became a Christian and why she started writing. And on reflection Omartian had to really open up to fully share why prayer is so important. Just because you’re a Christian it doesn’t mean life will be rosy and perfect; we all face loss, trouble and challenges. Being a Christian doesn’t stop these from happening but does give us the relief of the love, peace, support and guidance from an all-loving and all-forgiving God. What I am taking away from this is how crucial it is to continue to pray, through the bad and the good.

Out of Darkness is a powerful and inspiring memoir, that allows you to experience the life of a Christian woman, wife, mother and writer. I really hope to read more by Omartian in the future. Great read.

Thank you to the publishers for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read anything by Stormie Omartian? Any recommendations for other Christian memoirs?

4 thoughts on “New Read: Out of Darkness

  1. Hi Jessica, what an inspiring start to my day. I have heard of this lady, but haven’t read any of her books, but will definitely remedy that – great to hear a personal story of the transforming power of God’s love. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Leave a Reply

