Adaptations: January 2016 (2)

Adaptations #2

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are some more adaptations I have enjoyed this month:

Sleepy Hollow (Series 3 – Part 1)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
Supernatural drama based on Washington Irving’s short story. The headless huntsman may be gone but now this small town must deal with Pandora and her box of evil monsters. Some of the solutions seemed a little convenient but I enjoyed the super, creepy creatures and I still love the hilarious camaraderie between Ichabod and Abigail. Part 2 will start in February. Okay watch.

Endeavour (Series 3)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
ITV crime drama based on the characters of Colin Dexter’s Inspector Morse novels, and a prequel to the ITV Inspector Morse (1987-2000) TV series. We re-join young detective constable Endeavour Morse in Oxford of the late 1960s as he solves some of his earliest cases. Another atmospheric and nostalgic series full of bloody, cryptic and surprising murders. Great watch.

These two TV series added to my previous watches this month makes my total 8. I have also been binge watching the BBC’s new drama Dickensian (Charles Dickens); and I am looking forward to starting new period drama War and Peace (Leo Tolstoy), Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands and the 3rd series of crime drama Shetland (Ann Cleeves). Plenty more adaptation goodies to look forward too!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

6 thoughts on “Adaptations: January 2016 (2)

  1. I’ve not seen either of these but I love the Sleepy Hollow series and this one sounds great. I’ll have to make a note of that so that I don’t forget to look it up.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I too loved Endeavour – what a fantastic show! And I was looking forward to watching War & Peace, but maybe not so much now…
    I’ve been watching episodes of an older drama, The Jewel in the Crown, and it is really, really good. I’m trying not to binge watch it because I don’t want it to end.

    1. Anbolyn, I am pleased to hear you loved Endeavour too 🙂 I am also pleased to hear you’ve been enjoying The Jewel in the Crown – I’ve heard of it but not watched it. I hope you don’t finish it too soon!

  3. Loved Endeavour – quite sad at the end and especially having seen virtually all the Morse episodes Endeavour is going a great way to clarifying why Morse later reacted as he did to various things – particularly women.

    But as for War and Peace – 1 1/2 episodes in I gave up in disgust – the sex scenes that Andrew Davies added in (I saw an interview in which he said he ‘wrote the scenes Tolstoy FORGOT to write’) disgusted and angered me – if I was a descendant of Tolstoy I’d be furious. It isn’t true to the essence of the book and it is (in my opinion) dishonest of Andrew Davies ad the BBC to get publicity on the back of a writer’s reputation and then trash the book. (Incidentally Tolstoy became a committed Christian towards the end of his life and I think he too would be horrified at the explicit nature of this adaptation.) As for the costumes – for the ‘bad’ women they are a cross between 21st century bridesmaid dresses and Strictly Come Dancing – off one shoulder / backless – please! There were plenty of well documented and beautiful dress styles to choose from – why oh why did the BBC decide to be totally anachronistic?? This has destroyed my faith in the BBC and made me sorry to be British. (Sorry rant over.)

    1. Margaret so pleased to hear you enjoyed the new series of Endeavour too. I thought it was great and the ending was very touching/sad. My father was like just tell her! But if you’ve watched the Morse series than you know that his love life never goes right 😦

      I am really sorry to hear you were disgusted with the BBC’s new adaptation of War and Peace. I haven’t read the novel or started watching the series yet, so I can’t really comment on it. I am surprised to hear that they’ve added sex scenes; doesn’t sound very much like the BBC perhaps it was down to the creator Andrew Davies? I know recently that many people thought the sex was tamed down in the BBC’s adaptation of Lady Chatterley’s Lover…which is completely the opposite!

Leave a Reply

