Goodbye January, Hello February 2016

January 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? I think I blinked and missed January; it seemed to go by so quickly! This month I enjoyed a trip to Birmingham to see the Staffordshire Hoard; even though it was a grey, wet day I was perfectly snug inside with all that glistening Saxon gold. I also celebrated my birthday this month with friends and family at a local restaurant; where we had a Cantonese feast. As for reading, it began a bit slow but I seemed to get my mojo back by the middle of the month:

Fiction: 2     Non-Fiction: 1     Poetry: 0

My reading this month has had a mysterious flavour to it. First I read Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness. This 2nd book in Harkness’ All Souls trilogy was a mixture of magic, mystery and romance, which took us and the characters back to Elizabethan England. I hope to read the last book in the trilogy soon. Next I read Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley; who is now one of my favourite comfort authors. I thought it was a fascinating mystery set in the stunning landscape of Pembrokeshire, South Wales which is steeped in history and Arthurian legend. I couldn’t put it down!

Alongside these fictions I also read the candid and inspiring Christian memoir, Out of Darkness by Stormie Omartian. I have enjoyed everything I have read by Omartian and this was no exception – I hope to read more from her this year.

Pick of the Month: Named of the Dragon

I am a little disappointed with 3 books because I feel I’ve read a lot more than I’ve finished! Throughout the month I have continued to read my result from the 11th Classics Club’s Spin; which was David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. I also started reading The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles and I am so close to finishing The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King; my first read for What’s in a Name 2016.

In February I am looking forward to some lighter days, a visit to Hagley Hall, and more time for reading!

What did you do and read in January? Do have any plans for February?

21 thoughts on “Goodbye January, Hello February 2016

  1. Happy Birthday! 😀 Hope you had a lovely day. I must make a trip down to see the Staffordshire Hoard! Definitely my cup of tea. I still need to read A Discovery of Witches – I bought it but was put off reading it because I accidentally spilled coffee on the cover! Oops!

    1. I did have a lovely day, thank you 😀 Aw sorry to hear about your accident with your copy of A Discovery of Witches – I hope you’re able to still read it or get a new copy. I would also highly recommend a trip to see the Staffordshire Hoard 🙂

  2. Happy belated birthday wishes. Sounds like you had fun. January did race by a little bit didn’t it! It’s nice to slow down a little sometimes and enjoy other things.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn, I did have a lot of fun 🙂 I am hoping February goes at a slower pace, especially as I have half term break coming up. Hopefully have plenty of relaxing days reading.

  3. Happy birthday! I would love to see the Staffordshire Hoard. I hope you enjoy your reading in February – I’ll look forward to hearing what you thought of David Copperfield and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice.

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 You may be waiting a while for my thoughts on David Copperfield but I should finish The Beekeeper’s Apprentice any minute now! I hope you also enjoy your reading in February and perhaps you’ll have a chance to go see the Staffordshire Hoard soon; it is well worth it.

  4. Happy belated birthday, Jessica!
    I have been reading Named of the Dragon since I read your review. I’m liking it so far at 50%. I hope it answers my questions satisfactorily.

  5. Happy belated birthday! I’m very jealous of the Staffordshire Hoard, I need to come back and do another museum tour, it’s been too long 😀

Leave a Reply

