New Books: February 2016

New Books - February

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s the goodies I’ve managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

The Cranford Chronicles by Elizabeth Gaskell

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Having a little of my birthday money left I popped in a couple of charity shops and found these gems. I adore Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier but I didn’t have my own copy before, and this edition matches my other du Maurier novels. Sadly I still haven’t read anything by Elizabeth Gaskell maybe this lovely Vintage edition of The Cranford Chronicles will finally tempt me.

Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Faith and Moonlight by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

I have just finished reading A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King, which I loved! So I couldn’t resist downloading more of their books from Netgalley. I look forward to reading more.

Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea

A House Divided by Margaret Skea

Then I was contacted by the author, Margaret Skea, about these final two books. Skea described them as historical fiction which though not overtly Christian are written with Christian values. I enjoy historical fiction and I am a Christian so I just had to give these a go.

Have you read anything by these authors? What new books have you got your hands on recently?

27 thoughts on “New Books: February 2016

  1. I love Elizabeth Gaskell and, as Lynn mentioned, her house is well worth a visit if you’re ever in the centre of Manchester. Glad to see some more Gelineau and King in the pile too! 😀

    1. I am looking forward to reading my first Gaskell and I will definitely have to keep her house in mind for a visit – I love visiting historic properties but ones with a literary connection are even better! And thank you as you were the first blog I saw talking about Gelineau and King’s books. I hope to read Broken Banners very soon 😀

  2. Ahhh, Rebecca. I so love that book!
    Hope you enjoy all your other books.
    I’ve also not read Gaskell – it makes me feel bad as I do have one of her books on my shelves – and in fact I think she lived literally down the road from me! I used to pass Gaskell House on my way to work!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 🙂 and it would appear Rebecca is a firm favourite with everyone! It makes me feel a little better that you haven’t read anything by Gaskell either – here’s hoping we are both able to change that this year.

  3. Rebecca is one of my favourite books. I quite liked Cranford, but I think reading it at school spoilt it a bit for me. I loved Turn of the Tide and have just started A House Divided, which is promising to be just as good.

    1. Margaret it would appear Rebecca is a firm favourite with everyone! I am also really pleased to hear you enjoyed Turn of the Tide and are enjoying A House Divided so far – I am looking forward to reading them even more now 🙂

  4. Nice! I have read Rebecca but it was a long time ago. But Daphne duMaurier is one of my well loved authors. I had a bonanza of books come in recently: Crime and Punishment which I am going to read for one of my reading groups. I hope I am up to the challenge! Also Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee, a brand new release, it is historical fiction about an opera singer in Paris during the second empire. I received an advanced copy of The Excellent Lombards by Jane Hamilton. I won it in a giveaway! Finally I got approval for a digital copy of Louise Erdrich’s upcoming novel, La Rose from Edelweiss. Riches!!

  5. Rebecca’s a great read! I didn’t get on quite so well with Elizabeth Gaskell, but I absolutely loved the BBC adaptation of it with Judi Dench, Julia Mackenzie and about a million other brilliant actresses! I’ve also heard good things about the Margaret Skea novels and have Turn of the Tide on my wishlist – I’ll be keen to hear what you think…

    Great haul!

    1. I am pleased to hear you love Rebecca while I am sorry to hear you didn’t get on so well with Elizabeth Gaskell. I haven’t watched the BBC’s adaptation of Cranford however I have heard only good things about – would be great to watch it after I’ve read the book 🙂

  6. The only one I’ve read from this list is Rebecca. Not getting much time to read just now but bought Nobody is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacey.

  7. Enjoy your new books! I love Rebecca too and have that same edition. I’ve also read Cranford, which I enjoyed, but I haven’t read the complete chronicles.

Leave a Reply

