Cookbook: The Hairy Dieters (1)

The Hairy Dieters

I recently got asked, by a fellow book blogger, whether I would be reviewing a cookbook I recently bought – if I’m honest I’d never thought about it before! As I tend to dip in and out of cookbooks when I fancy a new or special occasion recipe. So I thought I could do short, update style posts throughout the year as I try more recipes. Let me know what you think.

These recipes are all from the nation’s beloved ‘Hairy Biker’ chefs’ Hairy Dieter cookbooks (3 in total) which accompanied their TV show. I am not looking to lose weight particularly but I love how down to earth and well balanced these recipes are.

Minted Pea and Feta Omelette (book 1 pg33) – Simple, quick and yummy. I will definitely be making this more. ***

Golden Vegetable Soup (book 1 pg36) – Thick and comforting soup; a good autumn/winter lunch option. **

Sausages and Rich Onion Gravy (book 2 pg42) – A delicious family meal great with some root veg mash, which has already become a regular in my home. ***

Chilli Steak Salad (book 3 pg98) – Required a few ingredients I wouldn’t usually buy and I found the dressing a little tricky to make but it was tasty. *

Then my best friend and I have been working our way through the ‘Fakeaways’ sections of these cookbooks; saving money and massively cutting the calories off our normal takeaway favourites.

Fragrant Pork and Prawn Noodle Broth (book 1 pg136) – Quite a few steps to follow and lots of ingredients but it was well worth it – no take away I’ve ever had tasted this fresh and good. ***

Chicken Chow Mein (book 2 pg109) – Simple and yummy. ***

Fiery Beef Madras (pg113) – While I enjoyed the taste I found it a little runny and basic. *

I have many more recipes bookmarked in these which I’m looking forward to trying. At the moment I am particularly interested in the fish and vegetarian dishes as I have given up meat for Lent!

Do you fancy any of these? Have you tried any new, yummy recipes recently?

6 thoughts on “Cookbook: The Hairy Dieters (1)

    1. Hello Tamsin, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It always lovely to hear from a fellow Hairy Biker/Dieter fan 🙂 I haven’t yet but I would love to try their chilli con carne and chicken dhanzak recipes soon!

Leave a Reply

