Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Un-Typical Reads

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. I’ve never took part officially in this meme before however I have enjoyed reading other people’s lists and I like making lists too. This week’s topic is:

‘Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone)’

My list is a mixture of books which have genres, topics and some elements which are not my typical reading.

  • 1 & 2. Shadow of Night and previously A Discovery of Witches by Deborah HarknessParanormal Romance. I love the paranormal but less keen on the romance.
  • 3 & 4. Kingmaker: Broken Faith and previously Winter Pilgrims by Toby Clements – Dark Historical Fiction. This is historical fiction with all the gritty details!
  • 5. Lamp Black, Wolf Grey by Paula Brackston – Romance. I enjoyed the history and mythology to this story. I was surprised by the heavy romantic and erotic detail.
  • 6. What’s So Great About the Doctrines of Grace? by Richard D Phillips – Christian Non-Fiction. I often read to inspire my faith however I had not read anything about Calvinism or it’s theology before
  • 7. The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland – Dark Historical Fiction. Another darker, grittier historical fiction to what I’m used to.
  • 8. The Book of Jonah by Joshua Max Feldman – Literary Fiction. I read very little literary fiction. I was drawn to this because of its links back to Jonah in the Bible.
  • 9. The Moor by William Atkins – Geographical Non-Fiction. I don’t believe I’ve ever chosen a book about geography before. I was drawn by the literature that the moors have inspired.
  • 10. The Mine by John A Heldt – Romance. I went into reading this thinking it was a time travelling adventure, less time travel but a sweet tale of a modern guy in the near past.

Have you read any of these? What new genres or out of your comfort zone books have you read recently?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Un-Typical Reads

  1. I haven’t read any of these but I do like the look of the Maitland book. I think I already have one by that author on my shelves and I fancied this one when it first appeared.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I have been reading some books translated from other languages and set in various countries. The Happy Marriage by Moroccan author Tahar Ben Jelloun, House of Day, House of Night by Polish author Olga Tokarczuk, and The Vegetarian by Korean author Han Kang. I have encountered different cultures and other ways of telling stories.

    1. Judy, I am really pleased to hear you have been stepping out from your typical reads to read translated books from around the world and in doing so discovering different cultures and traditions 🙂

    1. Hello Alison, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is nice to hear you enjoyed Shadow of Night and A Discovery of Witches too. I am hoping to read the 3rd book, Book of Life, soon.

      p.s. I am hopping over to your Top Ten Tuesday list now 🙂

Leave a Reply

