New Read: City of Heavenly Fire

City of Heavenly Fire

Everything must come to an end, and so does Cassandra Clare’s popular young adult series The Mortal Instruments with this; the City of Heavenly Fire. This post may contain spoilers for the previous books.

Clary and her friends must fight their last and most deadly battle yet. Sebastian has launched terrible and bloody attacks on the Praetor Lupus and Shadowhunter institutes all over the world – killing many and turning others into Endarkened Shadowhunters. Now Sebastian’s Endarkened army and his allies threaten the ancient stronghold of Alicante, where the remaining Shadowhunters and their families have taken refuge. Trying to stop this impending apocalypse and save their loved ones, Clary and her friends take what could be a one way journey into the demon realm of Edom; to challenge Sebastian face-to-face.

I have always liked our young protagonist Clary. Watching her grow from a shy, artistic and awkward teenager to a strong, clever and brave Shadowhunter. It also helps that she is short like me – yeah short girls can kick ass to! Clary doesn’t have to face this final battle alone though as, always, she is joined by her ever faithful and brave friends: Jace, Alec, Isabelle and Simon. Who have all grown in their own ways to. Jace, Alec and Isabelle have always been Shadowhunters so it is Simon who has perhaps made the most obvious changes. All these changes is what made the end even more bittersweet for me.

I started reading this series back in 2013 with the City of Bones; perhaps the weakest book in this series. Fortunately for me the intriguing premise kept me reading and I can honestly say I have enjoyed this series more and more each book I have read. The changes and growth in the characters turned them from two-dimensional characters to ones I really liked and could believe in; particularly Clary and Simon. I also feel the action got darker and a bit more adult throughout the series. Now I have finished this series I would be interested in reading Clare’s other series The Infernal Devices – my brother has devoured both series.

The City of Heavenly Fire was another fun and action-packed adventure in a dark fantasy setting, and I thought it was a satisfying ending to the series. Good read.

Have you read this series? Have you read Clare’s other series The Infernal Devices?

6 thoughts on “New Read: City of Heavenly Fire

  1. Glad you finished this and enjoyed the series. I can’t even remember where I got up to with this one! I read the first three and then I think I read two of her later books. Still need to go back and finish off!
    Lynn 😀

  2. That’s a big book! I’m not sure this sounds like a series I would be interested in reading, but I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it and have another series to look forward to. 🙂

    1. Yes Helen this is one big book and the size did daunt me a little but I was desperate to know how it ended; so I got past it 🙂 I am looking forward to continuing with the epic Song of Ice and Fire series and finishing the All Souls trilogy.

Leave a Reply

