Adaptations: February 2016

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are the adaptations I’ve watched recently:

The Help (2011)          Not Read     Film     DVD
American Civil Rights era drama based on the bestselling novel by Kathryn Stockett. A young white woman “Skeeter”, a budding journalist, befriends and shares the stories of two black maids. A touching, funny and heart breaking tale of the ingrained prejudices in a small community in Jackson, Mississippi in 1963; with a wonderful ensemble cast. Great watch.

Seventh Son (2014)          Not Read     Film     Television
Family, fantasy adventure which is loosely based on Joseph Delaney’s novel The Spook’s Apprentice. Young Tom, the seventh son of a seventh son, sets off for adventure and danger as a Spook’s apprentice; fighting weres, boggarts and witches. Not a ground breaking film but if you go into it with an open mind it is a bit of fantastical fun. Okay watch.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2016)          Not Read     Film     Cinema
Fantastical zombie romp through Regency England, based on Seth Grahame-Smith’s parody novel of Jane Austen’s classic. Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters look for love whilst also fighting off hoards of the undead! A gory, clever and highly amusing film; I particularly enjoyed Elizabeth and Darcy fighting and smashing up Parson Collins parlour! Great watch.

Dickensian (2016)          Read     TV Series     Television
A quirky, new costume drama brought to us by the BBC and based on the works of Charles Dickens. Inspector Bucket comes to a suburb of Victorian London, populated with well-known Dickens characters, to investigate the murder of Jacob Marley. So much fun to see these characters together in this mystery, with glimpses into their pasts, and some interesting twists; with a great ensemble cast. Good watch.

War and Peace (2016)          Not Read     TV Series     Television
A sumptuous, new costume drama, shown here in the UK on BBC1, based on Leo Tolstoy’s epic novel. In Russia 1805 the young and privileged are partying, marrying, dying, fighting and falling in love, as Napoleon’s army edges ever closer. So pleased they made this as I doubt I’ll ever be brave enough to read this giant tome. A visually stunning series, with beautiful costumes (not sure some of the dresses were that realistic?), and a great ensemble cast. Good watch.

That’s 3 brand-spanking new adaptations and 2 slightly older ones I have wanted to watch for a while. Making 5 in total which I am pleased with but sadly only one I’ve read before!

I am also currently enthralled by the 3rd series of crime drama Shetland (Ann Cleeves) and I look forward to continuing new series Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands. While I look forward to starting the BBC’s new thriller The Night Manager (John le Carré) and I’ve downloaded ITV’s The Frankenstein Chronicles (Mary Shelley).

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

21 thoughts on “Adaptations: February 2016

  1. I watched a trailer for Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and loved it so I’m even more excited to discover that you liked it. Charles Dance is brilliant, isn’t he?
    Seventh Son (the movie) was enjoyable.
    I loved The Help, both the movie and the book. “You is smart, you is kind, you is important.” I just remembered this. Probably my favorite line from the book.
    I must look into The Frankenstein Chronicle. Never heard of it until now but I’m a great fan of Frankenstein. Have you watched Penny Dreadful?

    1. Aw Delia, I loved when she said ‘You is smart, you is kind, you is important’. I loved The Help so much I have already re-watched it, and now you’ve reminded me of this quote I want to watch it again! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Seventh Son too.

      I don’t really know what to expect with The Frankenstein Chronicles but it was recommended by my uncle. I love Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, it has Sean Bean in and the wonderful Anna Maxwell-Martin in it too; so I am looking forward to watching it. And yes I have watched Penny Dreadful 🙂

      I hope you are able to see Pride and Prejudice and Zombies as I thought it was so much fun! Charles Dance’s voice is brilliant let alone anything else 😀

  2. It’s so nice to know you liked Pride and Prejudice and Zombies because I read mixed reviews. I didn’t enjoy the book, but I think I would still enjoy the movie. Lily James is in everything lately! And I was very happy to read your comments about Dickensian because I wasn’t sure if I should check it out.

    1. Lily James does seem to be the flavour of the year doesn’t she? I thought she was brilliant in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and War and Peace, and I would like to see her in Cinderella. I hope you enjoy Dickensian and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies; they’re both a lot of fun 🙂

  3. Ahh, The Night Manager is an adaptation; I’ve only seen a bit of it but was struck by how film-like it seemed (partly due to Tom Hiddleston’s presence, I admit) rather than TV. That makes sense. I love the idea of Dickensian and it looks well done but I don’t think I know enough of the books to appreciate it at the moment. War and Peace and PPZ look very good.

    I’ve been watching Call The Midwife, I like the way it always seems longer than an hour, so much to it. I suppose that counts as an adaptation…

    1. Charlie, I haven’t read or started watching The Night Manager. I must admit I was particularly drawn to it because it has Tom Hiddleston and Hugh Laurie in it 🙂 I think to appreciate Dickensian you will need to have read A Christmas Carol, Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and Bleak House; which I have read. Although there were still a few other characters I didn’t know – some of whom seemed to be from The Old Curiosity Shop.

      I am pleased to hear you’ve been enjoying Call The Midwife; I would count it as an adaptation. I’ve never properly got into it but the few episodes I’ve watched I have enjoyed. If you are able to watch War and Peace and PPZ I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

    1. Geoff, I’ve never fancied reading the book however the film trailer looked fun so I went to see it. I was a little unsure what to expect but was really surprised how much I enjoyed it 🙂

        1. Geoff, thanks for the insight – I wouldn’t have known that not having read the book. It is great to hear the changes made were positive ones, as often changes in adaptations upset readers 😀

  4. I quite fancy a couple of these. My mum and dad watched War and Peace – they seemed to really enjoy it, I also fancy Pride and Prejudice and the Dickensian series. The Help I watched after I’d read the book – I think the book was a little more gripping and tense but I thought the film was really well done.
    Lynn 😀

  5. I saw The Help and liked it. I have Wolf Hall and The White Queen to watch next after I’m done with 2015 movies; I still have a few left to watch.

  6. I have seen The Help and read the book. Loved them both! I have watched the old War and Peace movie but not ever made it through the book. Perhaps I will watch the TV series when it comes to Netflix. Last week I read Mockingjay, finishing The Hunger Games trilogy and tonight I will watch the first Mockingjay movie. Also last week I watched the first two episodes of Wolf Hall. The actor who plays Cromwell (I forget his name) was great but I didn’t feel the adaptation really captured what I loved about the book.

    1. Judy, I hope you enjoy the Mockingjay films. I enjoyed them a lot more than I thought I would. I went into watching them a little sceptical as I am not keen when they split a book into two films and also the fact I thought it was the weaker book of the trilogy. I also loved the BBC’s Wolf Hall series however I haven’t read the book yet so can’t compare them; I am hoping to read the book this year! I must agree though the series had a great cast in particular Mark Rylance (Cromwell) and Damien Lewis (Henry VIII).

  7. I watched The Help last summer and I fell in love with it! I was thinking of starting Dickensian, but was a bit sceptical about it. Seeing that you enjoyed it, maybe I should start it soon 🙂

    1. Akylina, I can heartily recommend Dickensian it was fun to see all these great characters together and it had a really good murder mystery running through it too. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

