Goodbye February, Hello March 2016

February 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? Even though February was a day longer this year, the month seems to have flown by in a blink of an eye for me! However short the month felt, I have definitely got my reading mojo back as I fitted in all these books:

Fiction: 6     Non-Fiction: 1     Poetry: 0

I started the month off by finishing the first Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mystery, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King. I love Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic tales and it was nice to re-join Sherlock for another adventure through King’s comforting and nostalgic homage. Then I couldn’t resist reading the novella A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King; the start to a new fantasy series. I found it engaging and highly readable – I can’t wait to read more from this series!

Still being in a fantasy mood I read the final book in the young adult series The Mortal Instruments next; City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I have enjoyed this series more and more each book, and I found this an interesting and satisfying ending to the series. Next I finished World War II drama Across Great Divides by Monique Roy, then it may have taken a couple of months but I finished my result for the last Classics Club Spin David Copperfield by Charles Dickens, and finally at the end of the month I squeezed in a re-read of Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death by M C Beaton (my full thoughts on these final three are still to come).

Alongside these fictions I also read historical non-fiction The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles. A fascinating and good overview of the ups, downs, dreams, disasters and extreme personalities of the Romanov dynasty; which lasted for just over 300 years in Russia (1613 to 1917). It has whetted my appetite to read even more about Russian history!

Pick of the Month: The Romanovs

That is 7 books completed which is more than double what I read in January! Through out the month I have also been dipping in and out of Christian non-fiction,The Salvation of Doctor Who by Matt Rawle. Then at the end of February I started reading, off my Classics Club list, The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.

In March I would love to keep up this amount of reading, and I look forward to celebrating Mother’s Day this weekend and my father’s birthday the weekend after.

What did you do and read in February? Do have any plans for March?

18 thoughts on “Goodbye February, Hello March 2016

  1. You seem to have had a great reading month, Jessica 🙂 I hope March is equally, if not even more, amazing!

    1. Laurie, I am not sure if I read or missed The Wind in the Willows as a child! I know I had a copy of it and I remember the main characters; however their adventures, so far, seem brand new to me. I have feeling it was one of those books I dipped into as a child but didn’t read from cover to cover.

  2. Did you see the programmes on the Romanovs? I haven’t got to them yet myself (hopefully they’re still available!) but heard they’re very good.

    Well done on finishing the Clare series. I seem to spot more of them every time I go to a store so that must have been quite a bit of reading; glad you liked how it finished. Can’t blame you for taking a couple of mouths to read the Dickens!

    If I can get through the books I’m invested in this month – already read a good number of pages – I’ll be happy. There are three of them so I’m hopeful.

    1. Charlie, I saw a few episodes of a BBC programme about the Romanovs presented by Lucy Worsley. Is that the one you mean? The episodes I saw were great and fitted in with my reading perfectly. Actually I have enjoyed everything Worsley has presented though 🙂

      I hope you enjoy and are able to get through the three books you are already invested in. Have a great March 🙂

  3. I was sick most of February somehow so I’m looking forward to the longer days and warmer weather of March. I haven’t decided about “The Mortal Instruments” series, but it seems to have a lot of people behind it.

    1. Geoff I am sorry to hear you were sick most of February. I am also looking forward to warmer weather and longer/lighter days in the coming month. I’m not sure whether to recommend The Mortal Instruments to you or not; the series started a little weak but definitely got better. If you like young adult/urban fantasy you might enjoy it.

      1. Thanks! I’m definitely feeling a lot better, even if the weather isn’t totally cooperating yet.

        I’ll definitely have to think about Mortal Instruments. I’d never really thought of urban fantasy as a thing until I read the Brooks’ books this month.

Leave a Reply

