The Classics Club: David Copperfield

David Copperfield

My result for The Classics Club’s 11th Spin feature was David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. This was a perfect read for over the Christmas period sadly my reading of it dropped off in January however I was hooked by it again in February.

This is a tale of another young orphaned boy, David. Life in Victorian England could be cold and harsh, and David finds this out at a very tender age when his young, delicate mother and his baby brother both tragically die. Which leaves David under the tyranny of his cruel step-father; who cuts David off from those he loves, sends him to a miserable school, and finally packs him off, as still only a young child, to work in London. David’s only reprieve from the misery is the loving communication and visits his spends with his old nurse Peggotty and her colourful family on the coast.

You can’t help but like David, he is a loving, kind and alert child which is proven by the many friends he makes. Friendships with the charming Steerforth, the theatrical Micawber family, the reliable Traddles, and the ever-loving Peggotty family, formed during hardship and loss, are still cherished and never forgotten by David as he grows and prospers. Fortunately after suffering much David is given the break he deserves when he comes under the care of his eccentric, spinster aunt; Betsey Trotwood. Who while not naturally maternal is a fiercely protective woman who is able to offer him a comfortable home and education; which enables him to be the man we will see him become.

In this tale we able to meet another great host of Dickens trademark, over the top and colourful characters for us to love and hate. I know his characters aren’t to everyone’s taste but for me they are some of the best-loved and certainly some of the most memorable characters you will ever meet. I have already mentioned many from this tale above however I would like to point out a few more I loved: the wonderful Agnes, mad Mr Dick with his kite, loyal, old Mr Peggotty, and the slimy, creepy and ‘umble’ Uriah Heep. The only character I had little interest in was David’s love interest, Dora, and sadly it was the long wooing sections that significantly slowed down my reading of this otherwise great read.

This is now my 7th book I have read by Charles Dickens and I am finding the more I read the easier I am finding it to read his rather convoluted and highly detailed writing style; I found it very easy to get into the flow and lose myself in this story. As well as creating colourful, memorable characters I think Dickens really can weave a wonderful story and this was no exception. I felt it had the perfect balance of dark, trying and heart breaking moments with the lighter, loving and sometimes comic moments. As I said above the only section I didn’t enjoy that much was the long wooing of Dora however I could see the point of it later on in the book.

David Copperfield was another charming and moving tale of the hardships, loss but also simple joy and love that could be found in Victorian England. I look forward to reading more by Charles Dickens; in particularly I still have A Tale of Two Cities and Little Dorrit on my Classics Club list. Good read.

Have you read this? What Dickens’ novel do you think I should read next?

The Classics Club – 38/50

14 thoughts on “The Classics Club: David Copperfield

  1. I just read this one, too! I LOVED IT. I have read A Tale of Two Cities: it’s excellent. You have one to look forward to. Little Dorrit is on my list. 🙂

    1. Jillian, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed David Copperfield too. I am really looking forward to reading A Tale of Two Cities, I’ve heard great things about it 🙂

    1. Judy, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed David Copperfield too and that you love Dickens’ melodrama 🙂 I’m popping over now to check out the biography you read.

  2. It’s been a long time since I read any Dickens, and I read this one only once long ago. Time for some rereading! I’ve read and enjoyed Bleak House, Little Dorrit, Hard Times, Great Expectations (my favorite), and many others. I still have some left, like Martin Chuzzlewit and A Tale of Two Cities. I hope whatever you choose next turns out to be a good one for you.

  3. I love David Copperfield though I agree the Droopy Dora passages can lead to serious blood-sugar issues if taken in large doses! Apparently it’s the most autobiographical of his books, especially the bits about David’s childhood. I think you’ll enjoy either Two Cities or Little Dorrit, but I vote for Two Cities because it’s quite different in style to many of his other books. 🙂

    1. How interesting, I didn’t know that Dickens used bits from his own childhood to inspire this story. Thank you for your vote for A Tale of Two Cities I must admit I am leaning towards that one 🙂

  4. I really enjoyed this book when I read it last year. I loved the characters, apart from Dora, who I found very irritating. I’ve finished all the Dickens novels on my Classics Club list now, but there are still a lot that I haven’t read, including Little Dorrit, so I’ll be interested to know what you think of that one.

    1. Helen, it is comforting to hear I am not the only one who found Dora annoying! I think it will be a little bittersweet when I finish all the Charles Dickens on my Classics Club list although I do have the 4 year milestone coming up later this month; so not long left!

  5. I’m reading David Copperfield at the moment albeit very slowly (polyreading doesn’t come easily but it has its uses!). I’m really enjoying it so far, the characters are far more likeable and the plot has more of a pace than Little Dorrit which I’ve not long finished. I totally agree with you about Dickens’ larger than life characters, they are such a pleasure to read! 🙂

    1. Hello Sarah, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 Especially some one who loves Dickens’ characters too! I hope you continue to enjoy reading David Copperfield.

  6. I read David Copperfield in school (a loong time ago!) so could probably do with a reread. I read A Christmas Carol for the first time in December and really loved it.

    1. Cathy, so pleased to hear you loved A Christmas Carol I think it is still perhaps my favourite Dickens 🙂 I also think a re-read of David Copperfield sounds like a good idea too.

Leave a Reply

