Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Characters That Split Opinion

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is:‘Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Just Don’t Get or Ten Characters I LOVE But Others Seem To Dislike’. I thought it was tricky to think of 10 for these on their own so I split my answers between them. First up, 5 characters others love but I just don’t get:

~ 1 ~

Jane Eyre
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I can understand why people love Jane: she is intelligent, kind and has strong faith and morals…yet I don’t love her! That is because she is also extremely self-deprecating, which annoys me, and for an intelligent woman she makes some sheer, dumb spur of the moment decisions.

~ 2 ~

Heathcliff
Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights is still my favourite novel, of those I’ve read, by the Brontë sisters; and while I totally get the gothic, fascination with a character like Heathcliff I certainly DO NOT find him romantic.

~ 3 ~

Gale Hawthorne
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

There is a love triangle in this series between Katniss, Gale and Peeta, however for me Gale was no competition for Peeta. I am not sure why but I just didn’t like Gale; even though, until the last book, there was no tangible reason to not like him. Call it gut instinct!

~ 4 ~

James Potter
Harry Potter by J K Rowling

While Harry seems to idolise his father I couldn’t understand why. The more I found out about him the more I disliked him. He generally comes across arrogant and even though he dies fighting the good fight I still didn’t find myself liking him, let alone loving him.

~ 5 ~

Daisy Buchanan
The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

Daisy is vacuous, vain and deceitful; and in my opinion not good enough for Jay Gatsby. It was unlikable characters like Daisy which left me liking The Great Gatsby but not loving it.

Now 5 characters I love but others seem to dislike or not pay much attention too:

~ 6 ~

Edmund Pevensie
The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis

I have not heard anyone specifically say they dislike Edmund, likewise though I have not heard him mentioned as their favourite sibling either; but he is my favourite! I love how he started as such a flawed, realistic character and grew to be a better person.

~ 7 ~

Emma Woodhouse
Emma by Jane Austen

Many people seem to find Emma annoying but she just makes me smile! Her hopeless love-matching makes me cringe and laugh in equal measure, and I do think her heart is in the right place. Her flaws only make her more likeable for me.

~ 8 ~

Severus Snape
Harry Potter by J K Rowling

Even before later revelations I loved Snape, particularly when he was being mean to Harry, Hermione and Ron. He’s witty and cutting remarks are often hilarious, and his outward hatred of Harry always fascinated me. A character you love to hate.

~ 9 ~

Mr Rochester
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I understand how Mr Rochester can be seen as stern, often short, rude and selfish…yet I love him. Perhaps because I could always see why he was like that or how he became like that. Also you’ve got to love how he loved Jane and was not ashamed of it.

~ 10 ~

Amy March
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Of the March sisters you have to say Amy is usually the least like, due in part to a certain diary burning incident, and yet she is my favourite sister. The fact that Amy was the one that needed to grow, improve and develop the most is the exact reason why I love her.

What characters do others love but you just don’t get? Or what characters do you love but everyone else seems to dislike?

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Characters That Split Opinion

  1. Like a lot of people, I love Jane Eyre, so you’re right that you’re in the minority on that one. 🙂 I didn’t dislike Gale necessarily, but I thought it was obvious that Peeta was the one. And Emma is fantastic. I can’t hate her. I’m also a Catherine Morland defender. Fanny Price is on her own though, ha ha.

    1. Hello Lauren, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I know what you mean, we all like a good villain now and again.

      I am popping over to check out your TTT post now 🙂

    1. Hello Giovanna, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is comforting to hear I am not the only one with a negative, gut instinct about Gale! I am popping over to check out your TTT post now 🙂

  2. Haha I was rooting for Snape, too, because he was really the only complex character and I have a weakness for smart insults 😀
    Ditto on Heathcliffe, omg that is not romantic!

  3. As a child I disliked Edmund because TLTWATW is so strong a book, but I like him a lot now. There’s a lot of grace to him and he becomes pretty humble. I like Rochester, too. He has a lot of flaws but I think, in the context of the time, he does try to do the right thing, if misguided. I’ll have to agree to disagree on Jane, though I understand your thinking 🙂

    1. Charlie, we may not agree on Jane but it is great to hear you like Mr Rochester and Edmund too. Your description of Edmund having ‘grace’ and becoming ‘pretty humble’ is so true 🙂

  4. I haven’t read Jane Eyre in a while but I remember I just felt for her all the way. And Gale, I was routing for him and sort of could not understand how Peeta became The One. But totally agree on Daisy. I also had a soft spot for Edmund. I was always conflicted about Amy no matter how many times I read that book.

  5. I’m with you all the way on Jane Eyre and Emma Woodhouse. (How can you not like Emma?) And with James Potter, I ended up liking Remus Lupin much better, although Severus Snape not so much. Fun list!

    1. Lark, it is lovely to hear you found this post fun and it is great to see we have similar thoughts on many of these, opinion splitting, characters. I also liked Lupin 🙂

    1. Hello Carrie, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is great to hear you agree about James Potter 😀 I am popping over to check out your TTT post now!

  6. You bring up a GREAT point about Harry’s dad, James Potter. You’re totally right-what we learn about him is that he was a bully. There really isn’t much about him that paints him in a flattering light!

    1. Hello Book Disciple, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face. I am pleased to hear you liked/agreed my point about James Potter 😀

    1. Hello Allyson, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is good to hear you sympathise with my James Potter choice as I haven’t seen him on any other lists; unlike Heathcliff! I am popping over to check out your TTT post now!

    1. Hello Jo, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 It is interesting to hear you had Gale and Snape on your list too – I am heading over to check out your full list now!

  7. Great choice with Harry’s dad and absolutely spot on. I thought he came across badly in the memories that were shared by Snape – a bit of a bully even.
    Gale – yeah, I wasn’t in the Gale team for sure.
    Heathcliff – incredibly selfish – then again so is Cathy.
    I love Mr Rochester – love him. And have you seen the film with Fassbender – beautifully shot and very visual.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, it is great to see we have similar opinions on so many of these, opinion splitting, characters 😀 And yes I have seen the film adaptation with Michael Fassbender in – I agree it is visually stunning and Fassbender is an amazing Mr Rochester!

  8. I agree with a lot of your choices. I love Mr Rochester, but while I think Heathcliff is a fascinating character he is definitely not a romantic one! I also like Emma Woodhouse, although I have to admit I found her very annoying the first time I read the book. My opinion of her improved on my second read. 🙂

  9. There’s something about Heathcliff I just don’t get. That love (or obsession) I find suffocating. I too disliked Daisy Buchanan, so vain beyond words.
    Likewise, I loved Severus Snape (though I confess his goodness surprised me), but his ill fascination with Harry provided good conflict in the story. I loved Mr. Rochester as well; I found him incredibly romantic.

  10. I so agree about Harry’s dad! I thought that whole little clique were horrible, and couldn’t see why so many people seemed to think they were great. And I liked Snape too – even before he morphed into Alan Rickman!

    1. I also have to agree the whole little clique is horrible, however I do love Professor Lupin. I feel he has grown up a lot though and you get to see him working with Snape. Unlike Sirius who is still openly hostile to Snape and comes across as a ‘whining baby’, as Snape would say 😀 Plus wasn’t Alan Rickman like the perfect Snape?!

Leave a Reply

