Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: ‘Ten Books On My Spring TBR’. In no particular order, here are the books I would love to get round to reading this spring:

~ 1 ~

The Martian by Andy Weir

This best-selling science-fiction has been on my TBR for too long and I would like to read it before watching the film, starring Matt Damon.

~ 2 ~

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

I have read and enjoyed all of the thrilling adventures of Robert Langdon yet missed this one!

~ 3 ~

The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson

This romantic mystery could be my 2nd book towards the What’s in a Name 2016 challenge.

~ 4 ~

Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

I loved the previous book, A Reaper of Stone and I can’t wait to read more from this new fantasy series!

~ 5 ~

Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver

I have enjoyed many documentaries presented by historian Neil Oliver, so I am interested to read his first foray into historical fiction.

~ 6 ~

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

I have heard such good things about Gaskell’s classic novels and yet I have still not read anything by her! I’m hoping this will be the book to end that.

~ 7 ~

Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea

I was contacted by the author about this historical fiction (written with a Christian perspective) and I was instantly intrigued.

~ 8 ~

Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

I loved A Reaper of Stone from these authors so I am interested to start this related, fantasy noir series from them.

~ 9 ~

The Queen’s Choice by Anne O’Brien

This is the latest historical fiction from Anne O’Brien, who is rapidly becoming a go-to author for me when I am in a historical mood.

~ 10 ~

Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett

I believe Pratchett and Discworld should always be on one’s TBR pile 🙂

What are you looking forward to reading in Spring? Have you read any of my choices?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

  1. Most of the books I have scheduled till June or July are last year’s and this year’s releases.
    I loved both The Martian and Da Vinci Code. I didn’t think the movie The Martian reflected the character of the book but people seemed to like it just fine.

  2. Cranford’s a good start as long as you remember there are two ‘sides’ to Gaskell (North And South’s got a lot more meat to it though the differences mean there’s something for everyone). The Martian’s on my list, too, though whether I’ll manage to read it by the end of spring’s another question. Hope you enjoy the Dan Brown 🙂

    1. Thank you Charlie 🙂 I hope we’re both able to read The Martian soon. I also have a copy of North and South but I was told Cranford would be a better/easier starting point.

  3. Nice list – I still haven’t read my Gaskell book! One day of course.
    The Martian is very good and I hope you enjoy it.
    I read the DaVinci book ages ago – and I really liked it – haven’t you already read some Dan Brown? For some reason I thought you’d read his Angels and Demons book?
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 🙂 Yes I have read Dan Brown – as I said ‘I have read and enjoyed all of the thrilling adventures of Robert Langdon yet missed this one!’ meaning I have read them all except The Da Vinci Code 😀

  4. Master of Shadows is near the top of my tbr too – I’m looking forward to it. Missed hearing Neil Oliver speak at the Harrogate History Festival, sadly.

    1. Margaret, it would appear great mind’s think a like 😀 Such a shame you missed his talk at the Harrogate History Festival – I bet he’d be fascinating to see/listen to!

  5. Ooh, excited you’re going to be reading Turn of the Tide – hope you enjoy it… Look forward to your feedback.

    1. Nish, I am so pleased to hear you are with me on Terry Pratchett and I was also drawn to The Villa in Italy by it’s title. It is currently still very cold here, so I am looking forward to spending some time in sunny Italy; even if it’s fictional 😀

Leave a Reply

