New Read: The Salvation of Doctor Who

The Salvation of Doctor Who

After reading The Faith of a Mockingbird by Matt Rawle I was looking forward to reading another of his Bible studies; The Salvation of Doctor Who. As I LOVE Doctor Who and it is British, so I hoped it would be better suited to me.

Pastor and author Matt Rawle’s aim, through this series of Bible studies, is to show how he sees Christ all around him in books, movies, TV shows, music and pop culture. As the title suggests, in this instalment Rawle’s focuses on the characters, storylines and themes present in the BBC’s long-running, science-fiction TV series, Doctor Who (1963-present). While I haven’t watched much of the older series – I have diligently watched every episode since the show was rebooted, with Christopher Ecclestone and Billie Piper, in 2005.

Rawle has chapters exploring the oldest question in the universe, how time works for God (or as the Doctor would say ‘a big ball of wibbly-wobbly…time-y wimey…stuff’), the peaceful power of the sonic screwdriver, and how is it bigger on the inside?! Through these Rawle discusses similarities and/or how they help us to look at the Christian faith, theology, and ethics; all of which is supported with scripture, discussion questions and life experiences. I found this a fun and interesting study guide that I think an individual or a small group could work their way through in a few sittings. While there a few little things that suggested it was written for an American audience on the whole this suited me much better than The Faith of a Mockingbird.

The Salvation of Doctor Who was a quick, fun and interesting read for me. I recommend if you are Christian, Doctor Who fan! Good read.

Thank you to the publishers for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? Noticed any Christian themes in books, movies, TV shows, music and pop culture?

2 thoughts on “New Read: The Salvation of Doctor Who

  1. I think Christian themes show up in literature all the time. Especially Christ figures. I just read Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones and one of the plot devices was Christian vs Atheist, among other things. Set on a small island near New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

