The Classics Club: Four Years Gone

The Classics Club

My fellow bookworms  and classic clubbers, if you can believe it, I joined The Classics Club back on the 19th March 2012, which means today marks four years. The time has just flown by for me! Here is what I have managed to read off my list in the last year:

The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens

The Pickwick Papers

This a silly, sometimes raucous, and rambling adventure which follows Mr Pickwick, his manservant and his intrepid, young friends. A frivolous and lighter tale from Dickens.


The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

The Jungle Book

An enjoyable children’s classic of short stories following Mowgli and the animals of the beautiful and deadly Indian jungle.


Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Mansfield Park

Another beautiful glimpse into Regency England, this time through the eyes of the quiet, kind and intelligent Fanny Price when she comes to live with her affluent relatives.


The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Valley of Fear

The murder of John Douglas at Birlstone Manor House sets Sherlock Holmes and his faithful friend Dr Watson off on another fascinating mystery.


Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson

Kidnapped

A sweeping historical adventure which sees young David adventure on the high seas and land; with danger, fights, a shipwreck, murder, rebellion and chases.


The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Probably the best known, creepy and atmospheric Sherlock Holmes mystery which I simply loved!


The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

The Railway Children

An utterly charming Edwardian children’s classic, which follows siblings Roberta, Phyllis and Peter as they have their world turned upside down.


David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

David Copperfield

Another charming and moving tale chronicling the life of the young orphan David. Showing the hardships, loss but also simple joy and love that could be found in Victorian England.


The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

The Wind in the Willows

A charming, British children’s classic full of pleasant sunny days, adventure and colourful characters.


Which means I have currently completed…

39/50

I am so pleased with the progress I have been making. 9 books read in the last year, means I am just under the average 10 books I need to read each year to keep on track to read 50 books altogether. I am also currently over halfway through Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit.

Have you read any of these? What classics have you enjoyed over the last year?

14 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Four Years Gone

  1. Wow congrats on the progress! I abandoned my goal ages ago and just look at it as another list to read as I make my literary journey through life. 😀

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I have really been enjoying Dickens’ and Nesbit’s novels – I have just finished reading Five Children and It and I do have a copy of Story of the Amulet to read.

  2. Fantastic progress! I’m not sure I’m going to make it – November 2017 is when my five years is up. I’ve read Mansfield Park and David Copperfield – both probably rank among my least favorites of their respective authors, though at least with Mansfield Park, it was still quite good.

    In the last year, I’ve read Trollope’s Doctor Thorne and Framley Parsonage, Barbara Pym’s Excellent Women, L.M. Montgomery’s The Blue Castle, Jerome K. Jerome’s Three Men in a Boat, Edna Ferber’s So Big, and John Steinbeck’s East of Eden. I enjoyed them all. I’ve really been ramping up this calendar year on the classics from my classics club list.

    1. Thank you Christy and it is great to hear you’ve been reading so many classics over the last year too 🙂 While Mansfield Park isn’t my favourite Austen I did really enjoy it, and I would say The Pickwick Papers is my least favourite Dickens novel.

  3. Way to go, you’ve made such progress! I used to read a lot of classics, but I haven’t read The Pickwick Papers and only watched the Wind in the Willows, I think. Not sure if it’s really the same but lots of stories like Stevenson and Jungle Book come in a kid’s version and I only read those or my parents read them to me 🙂 But I do want to read all of Wilkie Collins’ works, I’ve only read his most famous so far!

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 I don’t have any Wilkie Collins on my list but I would really like to read some of his work too. And I’m not sure I’d recommend reading The Pickwick Papers there are better Dickens’ novels to read first.

  4. I joined on the 10th March so I’m into the final year too, but not sure if I’ll actually finish in time. Congratulations on making so much progress! I hope you enjoy the rest of the books on your list. 🙂

  5. I love the classics club – I’m only working my way through my list slowly – but I’m eating away at it little by little.
    Some great books on here.
    Lynn 😀

  6. You’re making great progress – much better than me! I’ve read just one classic this year – Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope. Of the books you’ve listed in this post I have read (some a long time ago) Mansfield Park, Kidnapped, The Hound of the Baskervilles, and Wind in the Willows.

Leave a Reply

