Adaptations: March 2016

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are the adaptations I’ve watched recently:

Far from the Madding Crowd (2015)
Read     Film     Television

A beautiful, romantic costume drama based on Thomas Hardy’s classic novel. Bathsheba Everdene is an educated and free-spirited woman in a male dominated Victorian world; while love comes her way she fears losing her independence. Lovely costumes and setting, with stunning cinematography, and moving performances by Carey Mulligan (Bathsheba) and Michael Sheen (Boldwood). Good watch.


Shetland (Series 3)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

Atmospheric BBC crime drama based on the novels of Ann Cleeves featuring Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez. After a mysterious death on the ferry to the island, Perez and his colleagues are drawn into a dark, complicated and dangerous case. Another gripping series with a great cast and set on the isolated, lonely and beautiful islands of Shetland. Great watch.


Cinderella (2015)
Read     Film     Television

A romantic, live action re-imagining of Disney’s classic 1950 film; inspired by the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm and Charles Perrault. A kind, beautiful orphan, mistreated by her cruel step-mother, is helped by her fairy godmother to go to the prince’s ball. Lily James (Cinderella) and Richard Madden (Prince) are lovely together in this colourful, magical and amusing retelling of the well-loved film/tale. It put a big smile on my face. Great watch.


The Revenant (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

A multiple award-winning, historical drama based in part on Michael Punke’s novel; for which Leonardo DiCaprio finally got that Best Actor-Oscar! In 1823, a fatally injured trapper claws his away back to life and travels alone across the wilderness to take revenge for the murder of his son. A gritty, brutal portrayal of frontier America, with stunning vistas and camera work, amazing CGI, and a stellar cast. Great watch.


The Divergent Series: Allegiant (2016)
Read     Film     Cinema

Dystopian, action drama based on the young adult novel by Veronica Roth. Tris and her friends escape from the city to finally discover the fate of the world outside and meet the creators. Action-packed film with great special effects, likeable characters, and some funny parts too. The story has been split in a rather unusual way…I presume there will be another film?! Good watch.


Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A new ITV fantasy series that re-imagines themes and characters from the epic Old English poem Beowulf. The legendary hero Beowulf returns to his homeland to protect it from creatures, traitors and raiders. A collection of fun and colourful adventures, with a good ensemble cast. Okay watch.


Alongside these 6 new watches, I have enjoyed comforting re-watches of The Lorax (2012)Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) and Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013); which brings my total up to 9! Later in the month I am really looking forward to the release of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

13 thoughts on “Adaptations: March 2016

  1. I should have a new book to movie post up soon. I really loved Far From the Madding Crowd and Cinderella too. I don’t know why movies like that put a smile on my face, but those are both feel-good movies. I was interested to read your thoughts on The Revenant and Allegiant. I hope to see Allegiant soon. How do you feel about dividing books into two movie?

    1. I am pleased to hear Far From the Madding Crowd and Cinderella put a smile on your face too; both really lovely adaptations. I hope you enjoy Allegiant and perhaps give The Revenant a go too.

      As for dividing books into two films I have mixed opinions. I enjoyed Mockingjay part 1 and 2 much more than I thought I would. While the last two Twilights films were terrible and I didn’t love The Hobbit being stretched into 3 films that much either. Then again I enjoyed the last two Harry Potter films. I think my problem with Allegiant being split is the odd way they’ve done it. I don’t want to give too much away, but they don’t seem to have split it down the middle?! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on it.

  2. Oh yay glad to see you recommending Shetland! I recently saw that it will soon be on tv over here and was wondering if it was worth the watch. Will make sure to check it out 🙂

  3. I’ve watched three of these – Far From the Madding Crowd, Cinderella and Revenant. All definitely worth watching. The revenant is a very visual film – it makes you feel the cold doesn’t it! Quite beautifully shot and the scene with the bear makes me positively cringe! Quite brutal.
    Cinderella is quite the other end of the spectrum isn’t it. Beautiful costumes and settings.
    I think Far From the Madding Crowd was possibly my favourite. I thought it was really well done.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I am pleased to hear you’ve seen many of these films too. I know what you mean about The Revenant that bear scene was very, very realistic! Meanwhile Cinderella and Far From the Madding Crowd are also visually stunning, but in a much more magical/happier way 🙂

  4. I agree with you about Far from the Madding Crowd (2015) and Cinderella (2015). I still have to watch The Revenant and Allegiant -Part 1? I rented Divergent again and have Insurgent waiting to re-watch them. I didn’t like Insurgent that much but maybe if I watch them in sequence I’ll change my mind.
    I scheduled a post for Saturday on Mockingjay, Part 2. This coming weekend I’m going to watch Brooklyn and Carol, and will write posts if they make enough impression on me.

    1. Carmen, I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed Far from the Madding Crowd (2015) and Cinderella (2015) 🙂 I hope you enjoy The Revenant and Allegiant, and I look forward to seeing your thoughts on Mockingjay, Part 2 (as I loved it).

  5. What a stellar list! I just got Far From the Madding Crowd from Netflix, so I will be watching that this weekend. I am waiting for Cinderella. And since you did not have anything bad to say about the Revenant, I guess I will try that too. Last night at my reading group there was some discussion about it and the consensus was that DiCaprio really earned his Oscar but one might need to cover one’s eyes a few times. Last month I saw the first Mockingjay adaptation. While I wait for part 2, I will read Allegiant. And yes, they also split Allegiant into two parts.

    1. Judy, in hindsight this is a stellar list isn’t it?! I was very lucky with my watching this month 🙂

      I have to agree with your reading group’s consensus on The Revenant – DiCaprio is amazing and yes there are moments you might want to cover your eyes; simply because it is all very realistic! I hope you enjoy it as well as the beautiful Far From the Madding Crowd and Cinderella.

      I also hope you enjoy reading Allegiant (it was my favourite of the books). I am sad they split it into two films as I’m not sure it’s doing the book justice; especially the odd way they’ve split it.

  6. Thanks for the reminder about Far from the Madding Crowd – one I meant to watch and then it fell off my radar. Must go add it to the watchlist immediately – I love Carey Mulligan!

Leave a Reply

