Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Great Books

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: ’10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads (Or Ten Of The Best Books I’ve Read Recently if you don’t 5 star stuff)’. So here are the last 10 books I rated as great reads:

~ 1 ~

The Romanovs by Virginia Cowles

The Romanovs

This was a fascinating, colourful and educational read for me; which chronicles the ups, downs, dreams, disasters and extreme personalities of the Romanov dynasty in Russia.

~ 2 ~

 Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley

Named of the Dragon

An immersive and gripping mystery in the beautiful, ancient coastal town of Angle, Pembrokeshire. Full of history, Arthurian legend, stunning settings, and a touch of romance, magic and the paranormal.

~ 3 ~

Out of Darkness by Stormie Omartian

Out of Darkness

A powerful and inspiring Christian memoir, that allowed me to glimpse within the life of Stormie Omartian; a woman, wife, mother and writer.

~ 4 ~

Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier

Jamaica Inn

Out on the cold, isolated Bodmin Moors, Cornwall comes this dark and gothic tale which had me gripped, fascinated and repulsed in equal measure from the start.

~ 5 ~

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant

A taut, fast and immersive adventure which was a shocking but refreshing ending to the popular dystopian, young adult Divergent series.

~ 6 ~

Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart

Airs Above the Ground

Another nostalgic mystery from Stewart full of intrigue, secrets, suspicion, lies, betrayal, twists and turns; set in the beautiful Austrian mountains.

~ 7 ~

The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

The Shadowy Horses

This time Kearsley swept me away to Eyemouth, a small fishing community, on the rugged and windswept coast of Scotland. For a tale full of history with an archaeological dig and the mystery of the lost Ninth Legion.

~ 8 ~

The King’s Sister by Anne O’Brien

The King's Sister

An emotional charged read which took me back to 1382 to meet Elizabeth of Lancaster; the youngest daughter of John of Gaunt and sister to the future Henry IV.

~ 9 ~

Elizabeth I and Her Circle by Susan Doran

Elizabeth I and Her Circle

A fascinating and gripping non-fiction that explores Elizabeth, her court and those advisors she chose to surround herself with.

~ 10 ~

The Praying Woman’s Devotional by Stormie Omartian

The Praying Woman's Devotional

Inspiring Christian non-fiction which suggests themes, prayers and scripture that can help women to make prayer a keystone in their lives.

What great books have you read recently? Have you read any of my choices?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Great Books

  1. Here are some of the books I have enjoyed the most since the New Year began:
    The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/02/the-paying-guests.html
    China Dolls by Lisa See http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/01/china-dolls.html
    Track of the Cat by Nevada Barr http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/01/track-of-cat.html
    Ghostwritten by David Mitchell http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/01/ghostwritten.html
    Purity by Jonathan Franzen http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/02/purity.html
    Beside Myself by Ann Morgan http://www.keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2016/03/beside-myself.html

    I have read many books by Mary Stewart and Daphne du Maurier over the last few years and look forward to reading more.

    1. Judy, all the books you’ve been reading sounding interesting but sadly I haven’t read any of them. I did read The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters but I was disappointed by it. So it is comforting to hear you didn’t enjoy that much either – gives me hope that I should try more of Waters’ books!

  2. I’ve read three of the books on your list – Jamaica Inn, Named of the Dragon and The King’s Sister – and enjoyed them all. I love the sound of Airs Above the Ground and The Shadowy Horses and am hoping to read both of those soon!

    1. Helen, it is great to hear you enjoyed 3 of these books too 🙂 I hope you are able to read Airs Above the Ground and The Shadowy Horses, and enjoy them as much as I did!

    1. I hope you are able to read more by Daphne du Maurier and Mary Stewart – I have two more du Maurier novels on my TBR pile, while I am always on the look out for more of Stewart’s novels 🙂

  3. I really liked Named of the Dragon as well; I still have The Shadowy Horses on my reading pile.
    I put The Romanovs on my list after I read your review.

  4. Only Jamaica Inn is familiar to me. I read it way back as a young teen and found it too dark for my tastes. I also recall that it reminded very much of the poem “The Highway Man”, which was a poem that always left me with a feeling of pathos.

    Mary Stewart: I’ve only read one book of hers – The Crystal Cave. Loved it!

    1. Risa, I am sorry to hear Jamaica Inn was too dark for your tastes. Having enjoyed it and The Highway Man perhaps I enjoy darker fiction than I thought. The Crystal Cave is that one of Stewart’s Arthurian legend books? I really want to read them!!

      1. Arthurian legend…yep! I’ve read only The Crystal Cave, so far. Haven’t got around to getting the others in the quartet. But I really loved her take on Merlin. I enjoyed how she gave Merlin a sense of mystic mystery without being magical. Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

