Goodbye March, Hello April 2016

March 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? The weather has been rather hit-and-miss here in the UK, my sinuses have played up and I gave meat up for Lent, however I have hardly noticed because there has been so much to celebrate in March!

First we had Mothers Day (spent with family on the south coast), then my father’s 50th birthday, World Book Day (we went as characters from Alice in Wonderland), and finally but not least Easter! Plus the England rugby union squad won the Six Nations, Formula 1 returned with the Australian Grand Prix, and after our big Easter feast we were able to settle down to watch The Boat Race. Phew! And I still found some time to read these books:

Fiction: 5     Non-Fiction: 1     Poetry: 0

I had quite a classic time in March. First I read the charming, British children’s classic; The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame. A colourful adventure along the river, chock full of eccentric, furry talking animals – that put a smile on my face. After enjoying that so much I moved onto another children’s classic, Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit. A magical tale of 5 siblings and a grumpy sand fairy which I just flew through. So that’s 2 books off my Classics Club list in one month and Nesbit will also go towards the Women’s Classic Literature Event.

I spent the largest part of the month reading the epic, final instalment in the paranormal romance All Souls series: The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness. For a change of pace, I then dived into the Mediterranean suspense The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson. I then kept the pace up with fantasy novella Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King; book 2 in the Reaper of Stone series. My full thoughts on these 3 books is still to come.

Alongside these fictions I also read Christian non-fiction The Salvation of Doctor Who by Matt Rawle; a quick, fun and interesting read for a Christian, Doctor Who fan.

Pick of the Month: The Villa in Italy

That is 6 books completed which is a really good amount for; I am happy. During the month I have also been reading Christian non-fiction Girl Meets Change by Kristen Strong, and I started reading Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell off my Classics Club list.

I am currently half way through the schools’ Easter break, in April I can look forward to another week off work and then starting a new term on Monday 11th.

What did you do and read in March? Do have any plans for April?

20 thoughts on “Goodbye March, Hello April 2016

  1. What a wonderful month Jessica! I’m definitely going to have to stick more classics on my TBR as this year I’ve read very VERY few! Quite surprising considering how many I whizzed through last year! Oh well, only a few months in I suppose.

    Hope you have a wonderful April 😀

    1. Thank you 🙂 I hope you get back into reading more classics again – I would love to hear your thoughts on them. I have quite a few children’s classics on my TBR which does help me get through more.

  2. I read the Wind in the Willows for the first time a few years ago. I loved it. One of the details I found intriguing was the description of all the characters homes, which I am also sure children reading this would love. I am also a trail walker and one day while in San Diego, I took a guided trail walk where the guide pointed a rat midden. Now I know what they look like, I look for them all the time and think of Ratty 🙂

    1. Laurie, I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed reading The Wind in the Willows as an a adult. I also agree that it was lovely to see inside the animals homes and dens with their cosy armchairs and fires, and how lovely that you get to see real rat middens – Ratty is my favourite character 🙂

  3. That sounds like a very good Easter and March in general! And I’m loving how you called it ‘classic time’; a very positive phrase! How are you finding Cranford?

    I’m currently considering making another immediate TBR pile because I want to stop that whole thinking-rather-than-reading thing again, so my April *should* be about good books.

    1. Charlie, I hadn’t really thought about it but you’re right ‘classic time’ is a rather good phrase. I am really enjoying Cranford so far – a sweet, gentle and comforting read.

      I hope an immediate TBR pile helps you keep reading rather than thinking. Happy reading in April 🙂

  4. March was busy and I feel April is going to only be busier! I have the first two of the All Souls trilogy on my shelf, but haven’t got a copy of the third yet. Maybe I’ll read them this year as it seems to be a year of series and sequels so far.

    1. Geoff, I hope you still have time for some good reading in your busier April! I also hope you have the chance to start the All Souls trilogy – the romance was a bit strong for me however I loved all the magic, history and art.

  5. That’s such a pretty view in the photo! Looks like you had a great reading month! I think I will get Villa in Italy for my mum, she’s gotten through all her cozy reads on her vacation 🙂 Btw, I watched the first 2 eps of Shetland and really like the show, it’s great for mystery tv evenings. Happy reading in April!

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 It is great to hear your enjoying Shetland and I hope your mum will enjoy The Villa in Italy too! It is a very pretty view isn’t it? I took that at the beach just a short walk from my mom lives – it is a view across the Solent to the Isle of Wight (you can just see the Needles on the right).

  6. You had a great book Jessica. I also managed to at least read one book off my classics club books which I’m happy about. I need to revisit my list and make some different choices.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn. I think a revisit and tweak of your Classic Club list sounds like a good idea. I have made changes to mine over the years – you need to have books you own or really want to read on there, or there is no point! The main point of the club is encouraging you to read more classics 🙂

Leave a Reply

