Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (April)

Blog - Women's Classic Literature EventHello my fellow bookworms and classic lovers, it is time for the second check-in for The Women’s Classic Literature Event. Since the January check-in I have read:

Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit

Five Children and It

A magical children’s classic that follows 5 children in their adventures after meeting ‘It’, a cantankerous Psammead (sand fairy).


I am little disappointed I only finished 1 more book for this event in the last 3 months – I was also hoping to finish Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, which I am currently reading. However that does bring my total so far up to 3 books which seems reasonable enough. That does lead me on nicely to April’s group question:

‘Share an interesting fact about the life of the author you’re currently reading for this event. This might take some research.’

Well as I have already mentioned, I am currently reading Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell. On the 29th September 1810 Elizabeth Cleghorn Stevenson was born. In 1832 Elizabeth married an Unitarian minister, William Gaskell, and they spent their honeymoon staying with Elizabeth’s uncle, Samuel Holland, near Porthmadog, North Wales. Great choice – I still have very fond memories of my own childhood holidays at Aberdunant caravan park, near Porthmadog.

What classic female authors and their works have you been reading recently?

10 thoughts on “Challenge: Women’s Classic Literature Event (April)

  1. Cranford is on my TBR pile of books. When I volunteered to participate in the Women’s Classic Literature Event I combined it with the Classics Club spin challenge. So I just reworked my list to have all twenty of the choices to be authored by females. Cranston was on the list. I got The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton and enjoyed it a lot. She was the first woman to win a Pulitzer Prize and she won it for this book. I’d be honored if you would take a peek at my review. Thank you.

    1. Hello Anne, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it always great to hear off another classic clubber 🙂 I have just finished reading Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell and moved on to The Phoenix and the Carpet by E Nesbit; so that’ll be two more towards this event and off my club list 😀

  2. My reading progress has being going slow for just this year’s plans. I have read most of North and South by Gaskell (75% read or something). It’s hard to read it when I’ve already watched the miniseries movie and know what will happen now. Her writing is good.

    I just got done finished reading Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth. That was a short read (without the editor’s intro and extra stuff that wasn’t written by Maria in my kindle edition). I recommend it if your looking to add some book numbers for your challenge.

    1. Michelle, it is comforting to hear we are in a similar position with our reading. I also have North and South by Gaskell on my list – I was waiting to tackle it once I’d tried something shorter/easier like Cranford. I haven’t seen the TV adaptations for either however I’d love to catch up with them once I’ve finished the books.

      I haven’t heard of Castle Rackrent or the author Maria Edgeworth – after doing a quick search of them though sounds like my sort of thing 🙂

  3. I don’t feel that I’ve made much progress with this event yet, but that’s starting to change as I’ve just finished one book that will count and have started reading another. My current read is by Charlotte M. Yonge, who is a less well known Victorian author. I’ll have to look for some facts about her so I can answer this question!

    1. Helen, it is comforting to hear we are in a similar position with our reading; especially from you as you read so much! I haven’t heard of Charlotte M. Yonge (unusual name) so I look forward to hearing the facts you find out about her.

  4. I’m going to take part in this question too! Elizabeth Gaskell used to live in my neck of the woods and in fact I used to pass the family home every day on my way to work – I don’t know how long they lived there and it could have been fleeting I suppose but it’s called Gaskell House and I think it is a sort of museum that people can visit?? I could be talking utter nonsense of course!
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I don’t think you talking nonsense – I have definitely heard about somewhere called Gaskell House on the TV which is a museum; although I’m not sure where it is!

      I look forward to hearing your answer to this question 🙂

  5. I’m currently reading George Eliot’s The Mill on the Floss. I’ll see if I can find an ‘interesting’ fact about her – I don’t know much about her, apart from the information at the front of my copy of the book. Apparently she drew on aspects of her childhood in writing this book. I’m enjoying it very much so far.

    I read Cranford at school, which was near Knutsford where Elizabeth Gaskell lived for a while and it is the place on which she based Cranford.

    1. Margaret, yes, when I was looking up my Porthmadog fact, I saw that Elizabeth Gaskell had lived with her aunt in Knutsford and it inspired Cranford 🙂 I haven’t read or got anything by George Eliot on my Classics Club list – I look forward to hearing your thoughts on The Mill on the Floss and an interesting fact 😀

Leave a Reply

