Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Classic Books

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is:

“Ten Books Every Classic Lover Should Read”

This week’s topic was one we could personalise. Being a member of The Classics Club, I decided to look back over my favourite reads from my list and share 10 that I think other classic lovers should try.

~ 1 ~

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women

An utterly charming novel that chronicles the struggles, tribulations and joys of the March sisters as they grow from children into women; back dropped by the American Civil War.

~ 2 ~

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice

This is perhaps Austen’s most famous and well-loved novel. A Regency tale of young women trying to find their way in the world; full of universal truths that do not change during the ages.

~ 3 ~

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Probably the best known and my current favourite Sherlock and Watson tale. A creepy and atmospheric mystery at the isolated Baskerville Hall out on foggy lonely moors.

~ 4 ~

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

I also had to have one of Doyle’s fascinating collections of Sherlock and Watson shorter mysteries on this list. This collection includes A Scandal in Bohemia which introduces the infamous Irene Adler.

~ 5 ~

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

A Christmas Carol

An atmospheric, creepy but warm-hearted tale that sees miserly Ebenezer Scrooge offered redemption through the visits of three ghosts.

~ 6 ~

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

The Three Musketeers

A sweeping historic and romantic adventure that follows the young, poor and hot headed D’Artagnan, who hopes to obtain a commission in the King’s Musketeers.

~ 7 ~

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The Secret Garden

An utterly charming children’s classic. Spoilt, sickly and rude orphan Mary Lennox comes to Misselthwaite Manor, where she discovers nature, work, friendship and love.

~ 8 ~

The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

The Railway Children

Another charming children’s classic that sweeps you back in time to meet middle-class siblings Roberta, Phyllis and Peter, as they have their world turned upside down.

~ 9 ~

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island

Young Jim Hawkins, the crew of the Hispaniola, and a band of a buccaneers go on a rip-roaring adventure on the sea; in search of treasure!

~ 10 ~

Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

Around the World in 80 Days

Delightful and eccentric adventure around the world with Phileas Fogg and his loyal servant Passepartout.

Have you read any of these? What classics would you recommend?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Classic Books

  1. Wow you’ve read so many! I still haven’t read the Musketeers! I’ve read a good amouny of classics I think so now I want to try and keep up with contemporary works. But I still have that goal of reading all of Wilkie Collins’ works 🙂

  2. I’ve read the first part of Little Women and will read Part 2 soon.
    And I’m currently rereading Pride and Prejudice while listening to the audiobook.
    I haven’t read the Sherlock books yet but I do have a lot of them in various editions.
    Loved Christmas Carol. I read it 2 years ago and don’t know why I waited so long.
    I loved The Musketeer series. Have you read all 5 books? It was a fun read.
    I’m adding The Railway Children to my tbr list. Thanks.

    1. Michelle, it is great to hear you loved A Christmas Carol and The Three Musketeers too. So far I have only read the initial Musketeers novel although I do have the other novels in a collection on my Kindle. If you enjoyed Little Women I think you will hopefully enjoy The Railway Children as well.

  3. Great list. I’ve read all but #s 5, 6, and 9. I think the two classics I’d add would be A Room With a View (because it always makes me smile) and To Kill a Mockingbird (because it always makes me cry).

    1. Thank you Lark 🙂 You are the second person to recommend A Room With a View, I really must read it. I did enjoy reading/studying To Kill a Mockingbird back in school.

    1. TJ I highly recommend reading The Railway Children it is an utterly charming read and I am sorry to hear you didn’t like Around the World in 80 Days; it would be a very dull world if we were all the same 🙂

    1. Hello Megz, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear off a new face 🙂 The Secret Garden is a sweet, simple and charming tale, hopefully it will be an easy classic read for you.

    1. Hello Angie, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear off a new face 🙂 I highly recommend reading Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. I am popping over to see your list now 😀

Leave a Reply

