Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Funny Books

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is:

Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh (or at least chuckle)’

Creating this week’s top 10 has made me realise what an eclectic selection of books I have read, that have cheered me up, made me chuckle and some have even made me laugh out loud.

~ 1 ~

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Dull and regulated Arthur Dent is thrust into a colourful, raucous and hilarious adventure through space; after the destruction of Earth to make way for a new hyperspace bypass. I highly recommend this classic, science-fiction, laugh-out-loud delight.

(This was so funny for my dad as a teenager he was banned from reading it in his school common room because he was laughing too loud!)

~ 2 ~

Emma by Jane Austen

I think all of Austen’s novels contain wonderful wit which helps to make her work so timeless and universal. I have picked Emma because I couldn’t help chuckling at her delusional, hapless but well-meant matchmaking throughout the book.

~ 3 ~

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

Young Flora Poste comes to live with her distant relatives at the isolated Cold Comfort Farm, and turns their world upside down with her cheery and persistent outlook. Gibbons wrote this as a parody to the romanticised, doom-laden accounts of rural life popular at the time.

~ 4 ~

The Killing Joke by Anthony Horowitz

Guy Fletcher, an actor, overhears a joke…and wonders where do jokes come from? Which leads to a crazy mission, with multiple paths, dead ends and stereotypical joke characters. It is literally a joke from start to finish.

~ 5 ~

The Little Village School by Gervase Phinn

A new, younger head teacher in red high heels breezes into the school to shake things up and hopefully save it from closure. Perhaps not the humour for everyone, however working in a school myself I know exactly what funny things children can say or do!

~ 6 ~

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

A collaboration of two well-loved fantasy authors, that sees the angel Aziraphale and the demon Crowley, so comfortable in their current lives on Earth, coming together to try to stop the coming of the End Times. A quirky dark comedy.

~ 7 ~

Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett

I could have pick any of Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld series that I’ve read and I know many of you will have your own favourites – however mine has to be this madcap and hilarious take on Macbeth; it always has me chuckling.

~ 8 ~

Harry Potter by J K Rowling

Slightly cheating but I couldn’t pick one book from this series as the humour continues throughout. When there are wonderful characters like Ron Weasley, Luna Lovegood and Professor Slughorn, even in the dark times, there is bound to still be some laughs.

~ 9 ~

The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien

Bilbo Baggins is swept away from his comfortable hobbit hole on an adventure to retrieve a home and treasure from a deadly dragon. The humour in this charming fantasy adventure comes from the mischievous and dry witted wizard, Gandalf. I particularly love when he tricks Bilbo into inviting him and the dwarves for tea.

~ 10 ~

The Importance of Being Ernest by Oscar Wilde

A raucous Victorian tale of society, love, identity and who is Ernest?! This is funny enough to read however after taking part in a play reading I have no idea how actors in the play keep a straight face!

Have you read any of these? What books make you smile, chuckle, laugh, giggle or even laugh out loud?

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Funny Books

    1. JoAnn, you do have plenty of laughs to look forward to! If you enjoyed Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Emma I would recommend Good Omens and Cold Comfort Farm to you 🙂

  1. I never found HP particularly funny until recently; we watched the first film as a family and everyone was in hysterics, it was like I’d never known the story before. Not sure what books I’ve been reading… and I’ve read the first one twice…

    Pratchett’s up there, definitely. You can’t flip a page without several jokes going by.

    1. Charlie sounds like you’re a little like my father, he didn’t initially find the books that funny especially the earlier books. However the more he watches the films the funnier he finds them – he keeps coming to tell me about funny bits and I’m like I know dad its always been there! 😀

  2. I didn’t make a list, but I’m finding much in common with other people’s! The “Dales” books by Gervase Phinn are also delightful. I picked them up when I was staying in Yorkshire for a term years ago, but I seem to have mislaid them since then. Too bad, because it would be fun to revisit them.

    1. Lory, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Gervase Phinn’s Dales books. I will have to keep them in mind for when I finish his school bools; I have 2 more on my TBR 🙂

  3. Fantastic list! 😀 I always chuckle at The Hobbit – Bilbo is so silly and endearing! And The Importance of Being Earnest is so funny! It would have been on my list if I had gone for non-SFF!

  4. Cold Comfort Farm definitely made me laugh. I saw someone recommended Three Men in a Boat above, and I’ll second that recommendation.

    1. Hello Imogen, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I hope you get round to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy soon!

  5. I don’t read too many funny books it seems. I’m drawn to ones that make me cry. But I wholeheartedly agree with your first choice. The Hitchhiker’s Guide made me laugh a lot!

  6. I’m trying to put a top ten together for this week’s topic too. Yours is a great list – I love Jane Austen and Oscar Wilde. 🙂

  7. I’d find this a hard list to put together – my mind goes almost blank when I try to think of books that make me laugh, except Three Men in a Boat. Your list is great – now you mention them, of course The Hobbit and HP are funny! And Emma…

    1. I thought the same thing at first, as I don’t tend to go for comedy books, however once I started to think about it I thought of all these! I must read Three Men in a Boat as I’ve heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

