New Books: April 2016

New Books - April #1

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s the goodies I’ve managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

The lovely, wonderful, amazing, book blogging friend Lynn really kindly sent me her copy of Jane Steele because she thought I’d love it – I am super excited to read this.

Glorious Apollo by E Barrington

Eleanor of Aquitaine by Christopher Nicole

I received these 2 historical fictions from Endeavour Press; the first through their newsletter and the second off Netgalley. Glorious Apollo is about the notorious poet Byron while Eleanor of Aquitaine is the future wife of Henry V and Queen of England. I have not read anything by either author but both books sound interesting.

New Books - April #3

Indiana Belle by John A Heldt
(American Journey #3)

Resthaven by Erik Therme

I was kindly contacted and offered copies of young adult, thriller Resthaven and historical fiction Indiana Belle by their authors. Erik Therme is a new author for me while I have previously enjoyed The Mine (Northwest Passage #1) by John A Heldt.

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

Lords and Ladies by Terry Pratchett

I am always on the look out for new-to-me books by Daphne du Maurier and Terry Pratchett. On my last trawl through my two favourite charity bookshops I struck gold: with Lords and Ladies from Pratchett’s hilarious epic Discworld series and du Maurier’s modern classic My Cousin Rachel.

New Books - April #2

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Tunnels by Roderick Gordon & Brian Williams

On the same visit to my favourite charity bookshops, I also spotted these lovely copies of fantasy The Lies of Locke Lamora and young adult, fantasy Tunnels. I previously read both but lost my copies! I am looking forward to rediscovery these gems and continuing the series.

The Indian Fairy Book edited by Cornelius Mathews

Stories of King Arthur and His Knights edited by Sir Thomas Malory

30 Days of Daal by Pragati Bidkar

Then finally but not least, I picked up, from Amazon, these two short story collections and Indian cookbook free!

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

16 thoughts on “New Books: April 2016

  1. Excellent haul!! My Cousin Rachel is amazing, so hope you’ll like it! Also yay more Terry Pratchett! Which series is this one part of, do you know? And the Jane Steele is also on my tbr, I’ve heard lots of people say they loved it, happy reading! 🙂

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 Everyone has been saying such good things about My Cousin Rachel that I can’t wait to read it! As for the Pratchett it is from the Discworld series – I know many people group the books by characters but sadly I don’t know what group it would go in. I hope we’re both able to get round to Jane Steele soon.

      1. I have a weakness for the witches series but I wanna branch out. Loved Going Postal, too, just want to read the character subseries somewhat in order 🙂

    1. Lynn, thank you again! I am really looking forward to reading Jane Steele and My Cousin Rachel, and it is great to hear from someone whose loved Eleanor of Aquitaine 🙂

    1. Judy, I am looking forward to reading My Cousin Rachel even more as everyone seems to be loving it! I haven’t heard of The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien, however I am pleased to hear you are enjoying it so much.

  2. I did read My Cousin Rachel many yeras ago but don’t remember much about it beyond the fact that I enjoyed it. I have a copy of Jane Steele too, and have been seeing some great reviews of it, so can’t wait to get to that one! 🙂

    1. I am looking forward to reading My Cousin Rachel even more as everyone seems to be commenting about it positively, and I hope we’re both able to read Jane Steele soon 🙂

  3. That’s a great selection of books. It’s nice of Lynn to send you a copy of Jane Steele – I’ve just finished reading it and I think you’ll enjoy it. Glorious Apollo was an interesting read and I learned a lot about Byron from it – and My Cousin Rachel is one of my favourite du Maurier books, so I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of it. I haven’t read any of the others, but I have had The Lies of Locke Lamora waiting on my Kindle for ages and am hoping to read it soon.

    1. Thank you Helen, I am particularly looking forward to reading My Cousin Rachel and Jane Steele; will look forward to hearing your thoughts on the latter. I really enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora it is an interesting mix of fantasy, history and conmen 😀

  4. I not read them but I’ve My Cousin Rachel on my shelf. Jane Steele looks good, I look forward to hearing what you think of it. I got Susanna Kearsley’s Firebird from a charity shop the other day which I’m excited about not only because I wanted to read it anyway, but because it’s the hardback version.

    1. Charlie, I am really looking forward to reading My Cousin Rachel and Jane Steele – I hope you’re able to read them too. And lucky you finding a copy of Kearsley’s Firebird in a charity shop! I haven’t read it but I’ve heard great things.

Leave a Reply

