The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #40

The Classics Club

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or their own. This month’s question is a new one contributed by club member, Joseph @ The Once Lost Wanderer (who joined in May 2014):

“What is your most ‘treasured’ book…not the story…the physical book? Maybe a valuable first or early edition, or an autographed copy, or a family heirloom, or a gift, or maybe just the favorite binding or cover art.”

This one is easy for me, my most treasured book has to be this 1979 Unwin paperback copy of the fantasy, children’s classic The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien:

Friday Face-Off #2

This battered and well-loved 1979 Unwin copy of The Hobbit, illustrated with ‘Conversation with Smaug’ by J R R Tolkien, is the copy my father has owned since he was a child. It has, probably not the most attractive, brown background, creases, bent corners and yellowed pages but I love it! While I own a newer, shinier and golden, hardback edition of The Hobbit, it is this old copy I find myself turning to time and time again. Most of the appeal of this copy is the fond memories I have of my father reading this to me, a chapter a night, when I was about 5 or 6 years old. And for that reason this old 1979 Unwin copy will always have a place in my heart and home.

What is your most treasured book?

8 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #40

  1. Aw, my dad has a copy of The Hobbit with the exact same cover! It was the one he read to us when we were little too, and on which I completely blame my love of fantasy books ❤

    1. Angelya, it is amazing to hear your dad has the exact same cover that he read to you when you were little! Snap or what?! I think I could probably trace my love of fantasy books back to my dad reading this wonderful novel to me at a young age too – it really sparked my imagination.

  2. I love a battered and well-loved book. My favorite book is my battered and well-loved copy of Gone with the Wind. It was the first copy I ever own, and the beginning of my current book collection. 🙂

    1. Jillian, I love a battered book too because I see it as a sign it must be well-loved. It is also lovely to hear you still have your first copy of Gone with the Wind that started your book collection off 🙂

  3. My most treasured book is a hardcover edition, missing it’s dust jacket, of Green Dolphin Street by Elizabeth Goudge. I first read the novel when I was in my teens, having found it at the library and picked it because I liked the title. This was the book that made me eventually read everyone of her novels. When I moved to Los Angeles in the 1990s, there were used bookstores every where and I began to collect Goudge’s books because they were out of print and even the library didn’t have all of them. The handwritten inscription inside the front cover says “to ‘Mignon’ Christmas 1944 From Fay” so, though it doesn’t say so, I believe my copy is a first edition published in 1944 by Coward McCann, Inc of New York. It was the #8 top bestseller in that year. I have read it at least twice and here is my review (along with 4 other bestsellers from that year.) http://keepthewisdom.blogspot.com/2006/04/books-read-from-1944-part-two.html
    Thanks Jessica and the Classics Club. That was a fun meme!

    1. Wow your copy of Green Dolphin Street by Elizabeth Goudge sounds like it is really special for many reasons! I sadly haven’t read anything by Elizabeth Goudge however I have heard some wonderful things about her novels; I really must try her.

      And you’re very welcome Judy and The Classics Club do some fun memes, so hopefully see you back here in a months time for the next one 🙂

  4. A lovely choice! I have a very old copy of The Hobbit too, passed on from an uncle who read it at school, but I think that my most treasured book has to be the copy of Little Women that my mother saves when she was very young, hoping that she would have a daughter to pass it on to one date.

    1. Jane, how lovely that your mother saved a copy of Little Woman that must has been a wonderful book to discover/share with her growing up. I am pleased to hear other people have old, cherished copies of The Hobbit too 🙂

Leave a Reply

