Adaptations: April 2016

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are the adaptations I’ve watched recently:

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

A gritty, action-packed, superhero bonanza; featuring characters from the DC comics. Gotham’s dark vigilante Batman and Metropolis’ indestructible Superman meet for one almighty clash. Spectacular effects, epic fights, leads into the Justice League and Ben Affleck was much better than I feared. I’ve heard negative reviews but I thought it just worked and for me it was a … Great watch.


 The Frankenstein Chronicles (2015)
Read     TV Series     Television

ITV Encore’s thrilling new series that re-imagines the Frankenstein myth (Mary Shelley) on the streets of 19th century London. The discovery of a mutilated child’s body leads Inspector John Marlott (Sean Bean) into a terrifying case of missing children, body snatching and Galvanism. A gritty and gripping series, with a great ensemble cast, but a shocking and frustrating ending! Great watch.


Little Women (1949)
Read     Film     Television

Classic Hollywood adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s charming novel about the March sisters, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, as they grow up during the American Civil War. A sweet, amusing and romantic film with some really lovely casting, although you do have to excuse Beth appearing to be the youngest and Amy being played by an older Elizabeth Taylor. Good watch.


Shakespeare Live! From the RSC (2016)
Read & Not Read     Variety Performance     Television

To celebrate the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare, the BBC broadcast a live variety performance from the RSC (Stratford). Presenters, Catherine Tate and David Tennant, were joined by a host of actors, singers, musicians, dancers, comedians and famous faces to bring classic scenes from his many works into new life. Good watch.


I also re-watched the amazing Jurassic World (2015) and Spider-Man (2002) (the latter in preparation for the upcoming Captain America: Civil War); which brings my total up to 5 adaptations. This month also sees the release of the new live-action The Jungle Book (2016) and the long-awaited 6th series of Game of Thrones! Both of which I am excited to watch.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

15 thoughts on “Adaptations: April 2016

  1. I prefer the 1933 version of Little Women. You’re right though about the 1949 casting. Margaret O’Brien was adorable as Beth, but it wreaked havoc on the context of the sisters once I started reading the book!

  2. I think I have seen that 1949 adaptation of Little Women. In fact I think I have seen every Little Women adaptation ever made! I recently read The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith and then watched Carol, which was as adaptation of that book. Both were quite good.

    1. Judy, how lovely that you’ve seen all the Little Women adaptations – I have seen this one and previously the 1994 film, I have heard there is an even earlier film though. I’ve heard of Carol, although I didn’t realise it was an adaptation, I wanted to see it as it’s got the wonderful Cate Blanchett in it!

  3. I watched the pilot of The Frankenstein Chronicles, very intriguing so far! Have you seen Catherine Tate and David Tennant’s version of As you Like It a few years ago? It was so awesome!
    I recently saw the Pixar movie with the emotions embodied….forgot the name and have been continuing with the current season of Orphan Black.

    1. Bina, I hope you watch the rest of The Frankenstein Chronicles it gets more than just intriguing! I didn’t realise there was a version of As You Like It starring Catherine Tate and David Tennant – it sounds like it could be great though 🙂

        1. Much Ado About Nothing starring Catherine Tate and David Tennant sounds even better, although I do adore the 1993 film starring the hilarious Kenneth Branagh and Emma Thompson 😀

  4. I watched and enjoyed the Shakespeare thing. I wish they’d release more filmings of plays (Shakespeare or other) as DVDs – now that there’s so much NTL Live and so on in the cinemas it ought to be easy…

  5. I’ve been catching up with superhero movies from the Marvel’s universe, because I recently had a lengthy and worthwhile discussion with a superhero movie fan about these movies and their interconnections and I realized I’ve missed some of those links and now want to be aware of the subtleties in the characters’ stories.

    1. Carmen, I have been enjoying your recent posts on superhero films – I hope you continue to enjoy them. I am really looking forward to the release of Captain America: Civil War later this year.

Leave a Reply

