Goodbye April, Hello May 2016

April 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? For me, this month just seems to have flown by! There have been days of glorious sunshine however the month has also lived up to its ‘April Showers’ reputation too. So there have still be some grey days which saw me curling up in a blanket with a good book and a mug of peppermint tea. Here’s what I managed to read:

Fiction: 3     Non-Fiction: 1     Poetry: 0

I am pleased I had another classic time in April. First I read the delightful, small town classic Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell. I have been meaning to read something by Gaskell for years and now I have, I can’t wait to read more! Then after enjoying the charming children’s classic Five Children and It, this month I decided to return to Edith Nesbit’s Psammead fantasy series with The Phoenix and the Carpet. That’s another 2 books off my Classics Club list this month, while the Nesbit is also perfect for the Women’s Classic Literature Event and Once Upon A Time X.

From the past to the future – this month I also finally got round to reading gripping, science-fiction drama The Martian by Andy Weir. I am late to the party as always, as this was a bestseller and lit up many of my favourite blogs last year. I thought it was a brilliant and surprisingly funny, and I am now excited to watch the film adaptation starring Matt Damon.

Alongside these fictions I also read Christian non-fiction Girl Meets Change by Kristen Strong which offers good, practical advice about how a Christian woman can face change – it certainly got me thinking and feeling a little more confident about dealing with change myself.

Pick of the Month: The Martian

That is 4 books completed in April. During the month I have also been dipping in and out of a history of Henry IV by Chris Given-Wilson and Christian devotional Let God’s Word Empower Your Prayers by Stormie Omartian. Then right at the end of the month I started historical-fiction Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea.

In May I am looking forward to celebrating my little brother’s 18th birthday, catching up on my reviews and more happy reading.

What did you do and read in April? Do you have any plans for May?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye April, Hello May 2016

  1. I’m just now catching up on things almost a full month behind! Hope you’ve had a great May, I know mine has been busy, but fulfilling. Only read one book though so far 😦

    1. Hello Geoff, great to hear from you after you have been so busy! Busy is not so bad though if it is fulfilling too. I have had rather a rollercoaster month with my brother’s 18th birthday celebrations, a rotten cold, seeing some great films and a play, and a disappointment in a job application. I hope you are able to find some more time for reading soon 🙂

  2. Great month. Glad you enjoyed The Martian. I’ve been trying to make more headway with my classics and bought a couple more books with that in mind.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I hope you have a happy May too. It is great to hear you enjoyed the film so much – I am excited to watch it. I hope you enjoy the book, when you’re able to get round to it 😀

  3. What a wonderful month. I’m so glad you enjoyed Cranford, I’ll have to make sure I do a re-read soon.The Psammead was also one of my favourite childhood series – both in books and on tv! I’ve still not got around to reading The Martian so I’m even later to the party! Glad you enjoyed it though 😀 Have a wonderful May!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I am glad to hear you enjoyed Cranford and the Psammead series too – I look forward to reading more. I would highly recommend reading The Martian; I should have my full thoughts on it up soon. I hope you have a wonderful May too!

Leave a Reply

