Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Childhood Characters

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is:

Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults

I love re-reading childhood favourites and as an adult discovering new childhood tales, which can be so comforting, fun and inspiring. This topic has really got me thinking how great it would be to discover what type of adults our favourite childhood characters grew up to be. Here are (in no particular order) the literary children I would love to read more about:

~ 1 ~

Lyra Belacqua
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

It would interesting to find out what sort of woman this scruffy, fierce and intelligent tomboy became; and if she had anymore adventures.

~ 2 ~

Christopher Boone
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Christopher has to fight his own nature and break all his strict routines during this book – I wonder if after his adventure there was any real change or if he goes back to his old ways?

~ 3 ~

Jake Chambers
The Dark Tower by Stephen King

Jake and his faithful companion Oy are two young, innocent souls in dark, adult worlds. He was strong and survived, and part me hopes he finally got some peace as an adult.

~ 4 ~

Elanor the Fair
The Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien

Elanor is one of Samwise’s 13 children! I have to hold my hands up, I just really want more stories from Middle-Earth but with the name ‘Elanor the Fair’ she must have a wonderful tale to tell.

~ 5 ~

Julian, Dick, Anne and George
The Famous Five by Enid Blyton

Wouldn’t you like to find if these perpetual children stuck in perpetual school holidays actually ever grew up?

~ 6 ~

Matilda
Matilda by Roald Dahl

The delightful Matilda finally got her happy ending. Did the happiness last? I hope she grew-up to be a happy, kind and successful woman.

~ 7 ~

Mary Lennox
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Mary goes through a beautiful transformation – I think it would wonderful to find out if she continued to grow in health, kindness and love.

~ 8 ~

Harry, Hermione and Ron
Harry Potter by J K Rowling

I know Rowling did that 19 years later in the last book but that isn’t enough for me! I just want more from the wonderful, magical world of Harry Potter!

~ 9 ~

Roberta, Phyllis and Peter
The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

I think it would lovely to find out if siblings Roberta, Phyllis and Peter continued to live their newly discovered quiet life even as adults.

~ 10 ~

Oliver Twist
Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

After so much loss and trouble little Oliver got his happy ending but I fear, knowing Dickens, that there are still more potential trials and tribulations to come.

What are your favourite, literary children you would like to read more about as adults?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Childhood Characters

  1. Wonderful list this week! Mary Lennox, Lyra, Matilda and the HP gang are all on mine too! And your other choices are fantastic. I’d love to see what happened to all the myriad offspring in Middle Earth 😀

  2. What a great list, believe it or not Lyra and the Famous Five were both on my original list! I so thought you’d have Lucy on here too.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 🙂 I know they didn’t make your final list but it is nice to hear you thought of Lyra and the Famous Five too. I didn’t choose any of the Narnian children as they return for the final book The Last Battle and, without spoilers, the story feels finished to me.

Leave a Reply

