New Books: May 2016

New Books - May

Hello my fellow bookworms, here’s the goodies I’ve managed to add to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

Save with Jamie by Jamie Oliver

I have enjoyed all of Jamie’s TV cookery shows, particularly his ‘Money Saving Meals’ (which this cookbook accompanies) that was full of simple, wholesome, well balanced and affordable family meals. I thought if I saw this cookbook for about £10 I’d treat myself, then I saw it for £6 – bargain!

Lady on the Coin by Margaret Campbell Barnes

The Early Life of Anne Boleyn by J H Round

Faith and Moonlight 2 by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

I picked up for review from Netgalley, historical fiction Lady on the Coin, which I previously read a great review of, and an early history of the fascinating Anne Boleyn (both from Endeavour Press), plus another instalment from Gelineau and King’s Echo of the Ascended fantasy series.

Murder from the Newsdesk by Peter Bartram

Destined by Jordan Pinkney and Will Lenzen JR

I was then contacted by the authors about these books. First, I accepted a review copy of Destined by Will Lenzen JR; the first book in a new, exciting, young adult series. Then, Peter Bartram contacted me to let me know his new collection of crime stories is currently available for free on Amazon UK and US – I couldn’t help downloading it to find out what it was all about for myself.

Have you read any of these? What new books are you excited about?

10 thoughts on “New Books: May 2016

  1. I am about to read The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee. It is set in Paris in the time of Napoleon III, also known as The Second Empire. I don’t know much about that period. Can you recommend historical fiction set in that time?

    1. Judy, I hope you enjoy The Queen of the Night 🙂 It is not a time period I have read about before or know much about, so interested to hear your thoughts on it.

  2. This is so odd – I was just checking out a Jamie receipe for a quiche!
    I look forward to your Boleyn review. I love anything from that period and she’s a fascinating character.
    Lynn 😀

  3. I have loved reading about Tudor history, especially about Anne Boleyn, since I was very young. Historians tend to gloss over her early years so I am intrigued. I do hope there is actually fresh material in this new biography though, otherwise it will be mostly padding.

Leave a Reply

