Adaptations: April – May 2016

Adaptations

Hello my fellow bookworms, adaptation lovers and any of those dropping over from the Book to Movie challenge; here are the adaptations I’ve watched recently:

The Night Manager (2016)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A gripping, gritty espionage drama from the BBC based on John le Carré’s 1993 novel. Jonathan Pine, the night manager, is drawn into the glamorous, dark and deadly world of his arms dealing guests. A strong production with amazing performances from Tom Hiddleston, Hugh Laurie and Olivia Coleman. Once I started watching, I pretty much watched the whole series in a row!

***


Captain America: Civil War (2016)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

An action-packed superhero adventure based on Marvel characters created by Joe Simon and Jack Kirby. The UN wish to curb the freedom of the Avengers, a decision which will tear the group apart with Ironman and Captain America leading the opposing fractions. A fun superhero romp full of spectacular effects and epic fights. I warn you though its very long!

***


 Ant-Man (2015)
Not Read     Film     Apple TV

Another action-packed superhero adventure based on Marvel characters created by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby. A well-meaning thief, Scott Lang, is enlisted to help a scientist protect his shrinking suit technology from falling into the wrong hands. Great special effects and fights and, while not the coolest hero it makes up for it with, a whole lot of laughs.

**


Graeme of Thrones (12.05.2016)
Read     Play     Theatre

A raucous parody play of George R R Martin’s epic A Song of Ice and Fire book series, which the performers say is apparently how Game of Thrones should have been done! An absolutely hilarious night out, highly recommended for Martin/Game of Thrones fans.

***


Big Hero 6 (2014)
Not Read     Film     Television

Disney’s 54th animated classic and 1st superhero film, based on Marvel characters created by Steven T. Seagle and Duncan Rouleau. In San Fransokyo, 14-year-old robotics genius Hiro and his new robot friend Baymax must stop a masked-villain. A fun and touching family adventure that put a big smile on my face; mainly because of the amazing Baymax.

**


Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015)
Not Read     Film     DVD

Dystopian, action sequel to The Maze Runner (2014), based on James Dashner’s young adult book series. Thomas and his friend are out of the maze in the dangerous, damaged real-world but can they really trust anyone? A heart-racing adventure with a darker, horror edge to it than the first film; bring on the next one!

***


I also enjoyed a hilarious re-watch of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014), in preparation for the release of the sequel later this year; which means I have had an epic superhero time and brings my total up to 7 adaptations. I sadly haven’t been able to see the new live-action The Jungle Book (2016) yet but I am currently watching the amazing 6th series of Game of Thrones!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching?

10 thoughts on “Adaptations: April – May 2016

  1. My husband is on an extended business trip with lonely nights in his hotel room He has been watching The Night Manager and loving it. I watched Fail-Safe, 1964 adaptation of the book which I had read last month. Good! Also the movie Carol, adapted from the Highsmith novel The Price of Salt. And the 2015 live-action Cinderella. Both of those starred Cate Blanchett. I am kind of over her right now. Ha Ha.

    1. Judy, I’m sorry to hear your husband is on a lonely, extended business trip but great that he has been catching up with The Night Manager – great show! I think perhaps my favourite out of this month’s really good watches. I also loved Cinderella, so romantic and magical. While, I didn’t realise Carol was an adaptation however I would probably have ended up watching it anyway because is has Cate Blanchett in!

  2. I loved Big Hero 6. I’m a sucker for animated movies and this one was great.
    And the Marvel movies are totally fun. I Liked Ant Man, maybe not loved it, but it was satisfying. and Civil war has some amazing moments. It was a good movie

    1. Magda, I am also a sucker for an animated or superhero fan…if you couldn’t tell already from how many of these I have watched over the last month. Actually since writing this post I have also been to see X-Men Apocalypse 😀

  3. The 6th season of GOT is delivering more and more surprises! I would like to watch The Jungle Book and Captain America… I didn’t love The winter Soldier, so I guess I have to see if I like the new one. I would like to watch The Night Manager; it’s already on my wishlist.

    1. Carmen, so pleased to hear your enjoying Game of Thrones too! I’m not sure what to say about the Captain America films as I actually slightly preferred The Winter Soldier to this new film – it will be interesting to hear your thoughts on it?! However, I can highly recommend The Night Manager it is definitely my favourite watch of this great bunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

