The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #41

The Classics Club

Each month The Classics Club releases a question to get club members thinking, discussing and sharing; either on the official site or their own sites. This month’s question is a rewind from January 2014, originally contributed by club member Ruth (who joined in March 2012):

“Which character from classic literature is most important or influential to you and why? Or which character do you most despise and why?”

I am going to go for an important and influential classic character. It is a toughy though, because there are so many great classic characters out there to choose from. I think for me though a really influential character, a character I have looked up to, is Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. Elinor is loving, patient, practical and stoic – if I could be just a tenth of how loving and patient she is, I would be over the moon. I particularly have to admire her when she conceals her own pain to support and comfort her sister, Marianne, who goes into complete meltdown. Don’t get me wrong I like Marianne, but it really does become the Marianne show when she has her heartbroken by Willoughby; yet Elinor’s heart has been broken too. However there is also a touching scene, towards the end of the book, when Marianne realises how her sister has been suffering in silence and Elinor finally gets a little of the credit she deserves; and the all important happy ending!

Which classic character has been most important or influential to you and why?

15 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Monthly Meme #41

  1. Immediate update: I did think of one! Mina in Bram Stoker’s Dracula. For her intelligence, courage, and the ways she made herself important and useful to the search for Dracula. She was loyal to her friend Lucy and never gave up on her husband.

    1. Really interesting choice, Judy. I read Dracula quite a few years ago now, while I enjoyed it I don’t remember a great deal about Mina so perhaps its time/excuse for a re-read? 😀

  2. Great question! It totally stumped me. I don’t read many classics. Trying to think of an answer, I found that except for Jane Austen, most classics I have read feature male characters more than female. I am going to let this question ramble around in my mind and if I find an answer I will come back and post it.

  3. Great choice – character, author and book!
    I meant to answer this question and it completely slipped my mind – drat! Oh well, next month then.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 🙂 It has been great to hear how many other people love Elinor too. I used to find it very hard to keep up with these questions as well, especially when they started releasing them on the 26th of the month. So now at the beginning of the month, I go check out the new question on The Classics Club site and scheduled it for later.

    1. Anne, it has been so wonderful to hear that so many share my love for Elinor, especially as I thought Elizabeth Bennet would be a more popular choice however your the first to mention her! I also love Anne Elliot – she is my 2nd favourite Austen character 🙂

  4. I love Elinor too, but my favorite Jane Austen character has to be Anne Elliot of Persuasion. She’s just about the perfect heroine. Jane Austen only got better and better, and Persuasion was her last book, written at the height of her powers. Such a great read!

    1. Hello Susan, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face, especially one who is Jane Austen fan too 🙂 Anne Elliot is also a wonderful choice.

  5. I love Elinor too. Although P&P is the Austen I enjoy most, I think S&S is a superior book and Elinor is her most fully developed character. I also loved Emma Thompson’s portrayal of her, even if she was a little old for the part. Good choice!

    1. Thank you, FictionFan 🙂 I am pleased you’re an Elinor fan too, she is a wonderful character isn’t she? And I adore Emma Thompson’s portrayal of her – actually the whole film has got to be one of my favourite adaptations ever.

  6. Elinor is awesome. But because I read The Scarlet Letter at a younger age than I read Sense and Sensibility, I’d have to go with Hester Prynne. I like her quiet strength and grace under pressure.

    1. Lark, I am pleased you’re an Elinor fan too, she is a wonderful character isn’t she? 🙂 I haven’t read The Scarlett Letter but I love the sound of Hester Prynne.

Leave a Reply

