Challenge: 10 Books of Summer

10 Books of Summer

Hello my fellow bookworms, June is almost upon us and that will mean the official start of summer (although, here in the UK that might be hard to believe with the recent patchy weather) and that means it is time again for Cathy’s 20 Books of Summer challenge (with the option to read 10 or 15 as well).

Last year was the first year I took part, I made a list of 10 physical books and managed to read 6 of them which I thought was not half bad for my first attempt. This year I have decided to make a list of 5 physical books and 5 e-books – I hope this mixture will help me read all 10! Here are my 10 books (in alphabetically order):

~ 1 ~

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

I have read and enjoyed all of the thrilling adventures of Robert Langdon, yet I seem to have missed this one! (Plus I am super excited about the release of the film adaptation of Langdon’s last adventure, Inferno)

~ 2 ~

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

I have heard such great things about this book and then the lovely Lynn sent me her copy – I am super excited to read it.

~ 3 ~

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

Sadly this book has been in my Kindle’s TBR folder for too long…even though I heard great things about this book and author.

~ 4 ~

A Feast for Crows by George R R Martin

I am currently watching the amazing 6th series of Game of Thrones and, this summer, I am looking forward to continuing with the books.

~ 5 ~

Wendy Darling, Volume 1: Stars by Colleen Oakes

Another book that has been in my Kindle’s TBR folder for too long…even though I have loved all my previous reads by Oakes.

~ 6 ~

The Queen’s Choice by Anne O’Brien

This is the latest historical fiction from Anne O’Brien, who is rapidly becoming a go-to author for me when I am in a historical mood.

~ 7 ~

Master of Shadows by Neil Oliver

I have enjoyed many documentaries presented by historian Neil Oliver, so I am interested to read his first foray into historical fiction.

~ 8 & 9 ~

Trouble at the Little Village School by Gervase Phinn

The School Inspector Calls! by Gervase Phinn

I actually read the 1st book of this series as part of this challenge last year. A sweet and fun series about a small village school, perfect for summer.

~ 10 ~

A House Divided by Margaret Skea

I recently read the 1st Munro book, Turn of the Tide, by Skea and I am really looking forward to this, the 2nd book.

Are you taking part in this summer challenge? Are there any of these books you think I should read first?

26 thoughts on “Challenge: 10 Books of Summer

  1. Great Choice of books, I have the Queen’s Choice on my kindle and have not yet read it either. I am looking forward to seeing your reviews. I hope you enjoy the da vinci code it’s pretty good 🙂

  2. I’m curious for your thoughts on Jane Steele. I almost borrowed it from the library, but then I thought — do I WANT to read it? 🙂

  3. Good idea! I have not quite planned my summer reading yet. I know I will be reading Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler, a retelling of The Taming of the Shrew, The After Party by Anton DiSclafani, and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. I am pretty sure I will read 20 books!!

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I haven’t read any of the books you’ve mentioned but I do hope you enjoy them, and here’s to us both enjoying and reading as much as we can this summer 😀

  4. I’ve read your first three and enjoyed all of them – and hope you do too. I look forward to your reviews of the others – perhaps I need to add more to the TBR – you can never have enough good book recommendations after all.
    Lynn 😀

  5. I enjoyed the Da Vinci code for about half the book – then my cynicism antennae began to twitch violently at all the unbelievable twists in the plot. Good fun though

    1. Karen, I have really enjoyed all of Brown’s unbelievable twisting plots so far, probably because as a fairy tale and fantasy lover suspending belief is not something I find difficult 🙂 I am glad you still found the book fun.

  6. Last year was my first year too, Jessica. I read The Da Vinci Code about ten years ago and loved it. I usually don’t care for books that jump around like that, but found this one riveting.

    1. Hello Dagny, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear of a new face 🙂 How cool that we started this challenge at the same time?! I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed The Da Vinci Code, the more I hear about it the more I think I am going to love it! I wish you luck and happy reading in this year’s challenge 😀

  7. Good luck! It looks like you’ve got some great books to read this summer. I like to free-range read in the summer, so I don’t have a list of books I want to read…yet. But I’m sure I’ll come up with a few. 🙂

  8. I never seem to be able to stick to lists, so I’m not taking part in this but it’s still fun to see what other people are hoping to read. I’m sure you’ll love The Da Vinci Code, as you enjoyed all of the other Robert Langdon books. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Jane Steele too!

    1. Helen, I can sympathise about finding it hard to stick to lists. I’ve tried to pick books I really want to read to help me but if I don’t read them all I won’t beat myself up about it. I hope we both enjoy our summer reading lists or no lists 🙂

  9. I’ve read The Da Vinci Code years ago before I began blogging and enjoyed it – but I know other people slated it. I’ve some of his other books too but not Inferno – I began to find them a bit formulaic.

    I’ve also read A House Divided and absolutely loved it – so I would say start with that one!

    I’d like to read the Neil Oliver book too, as I love his documentaries. And I’m way behind watching the Game of Throne series, but want to start reading those books as well. But they’re not on my list, so it will be a while before I get round to them

    Last year I too managed 6 books out of 10. I can’t think why, but this year I’ve listed 20 – doubt I’ll read them all 🙂

    1. Margaret, I think I missed reading Da Vince Code because of all the hype and controversy surrounding it, just put me off reading it. I loved Angels and Demons but found The Secret Symbol a little disappointing. Fortunately I found Inferno brought Brown/Langdon back to their old brilliant form 😀

      I highly recommend watching and reading Game of Thrones! And after loving Turn of the Tide I don’t think it will be long before I read A House Divided. I hope we both reach our goals this year, but if not I hope we enjoy our reading all the same 🙂

  10. Ooh, I’m kinda hoping Jane Steele makes it onto my list too, and I have a Joanne Harris on there too, though not that one – ‘Different Class’. it’s been years since I last read a Joanne Harris book. I used to enjoy them a lot but somehow just drifted away from her. Looking forward to getting to know her again! Great list – lots on there to enjoy. 😀

    1. Thank you FictionFan 🙂 I hope we both enjoy Jane Steele and our respective Joanne Harris novels – helping you get back into her novels and for me to finally read one, after hearing such good things and watching Chocolat (2000).

Leave a Reply

