The Classics Club: Spin #13

The Classics Club

Yay, my fellow clubbers the 13th Classics Club Spin has arrived! I sadly missed the last one so I’ve been waiting a long time for this. If you’re new to the Spin all you have to do is make a list of 20 books, you still have to read off your Classics Club list. Then a random number will be generated and you are challenged to read the book that corresponds with that number; in the next 2 months.

My list for the 13th Classics Club Spin:

  1. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
  2. Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
  3. Villette by Charlotte Brontë
  4. This Side of Paradise by F Scott Fitzgerald
  5. The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  6. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  7. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  8. The Time Machine by H G Wells
  9. The Tenant of Wildfel Hall by Anne Brontë
  10. My Lady Ludlow by Elizabeth Gaskell
  11. Mr Harrison’s Confessions by Elizabeth Gaskell
  12. Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  13. The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle
  14. The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas
  15. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne
  16. War of the Worlds by H G Wells
  17. Kim by Rudyard Kipling
  18. Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens
  19. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  20. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I have made my list not only from books I still need to read off my list but also books I already own a copy of too. My list is not dramatically different to the last time I took part, all I’ve done is to make a few additions to replace those books I have read since then. These are all books I want to read however I would be particularly pleased if I got: The Man in the Iron Mask, The Tenant of Wildfel Hall or The Sign of the Four. The number will be announced on Monday 6th June 2016. Wish me luck!

Have you read anything on my list? Are you taking part in this Spin?

14 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Spin #13

  1. I’ve made my list, but am not sure I’ll be able to finish the chosen book as I’m also doing the 20 Books of Summer Challenge – maybe I should have restricted it to 10 as you’ve done! Some of your books are also on my list – at different numbers though.

    I’ve read some of the others – the one I particularly enjoyed is The Tenant of Wildfel Hall.

  2. We share two books this spin – Villette and War of the Worlds 🙂

    Hope you enjoy this spin after having a mini break!

  3. There are some great books on your list. I hope you get one that you’re particularly hoping for. The Count of Monte Cristo is on my list too (it would be a re-read for me) and also Wives and Daughters, though I’ve put them at different numbers. Good luck on Monday!

  4. Good luck! I hope you get The Sign of the Four, but if not, I’m hoping you get either A Tale of Two Cities or The War of the Worlds – two great books! I’m not ready to spin yet, but I do think I’ll be joining the Classics Club soon – your last spin list inspired me to start list-making for myself… 😀

    1. Thank you 🙂 I would love to get The Sign of the Four because it is my last Doyle/Holmes 😦 🙂 However I’d be very happy to get one of the Dickens’ novels, as I’ve enjoyed all of those I’ve read so far. On the other hand I really need to try something by H G Wells!

      I am so pleased my list has inspired you and that you might be joining the Classics Club – I have had so much fun with it and the years have flown by for me 😀

  5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell is one of my favorite books! Such a beautiful story. I wrote a review for it on my blog, if you’re interested. But, definitely a great book. (Fangirling a little too much, I think 🙂 ).

    1. Hello Vintage Book Lady, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I would be very happy to get any of Gaskell’s novels on my list and I’m not sure you can fangirl too much about books?! 😀

Leave a Reply

