Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Reasons I Love Game of Thrones!

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Ten Reasons I Love X

This week’s topic is one we can personalise – we could pick a certain book, character, author, indie bookstore, a fandom, a tv show, reading, a hobby, a genre or anything we want to gush about. I have picked Game of Thrones because I am currently watching the amazing 6th series of this blockbuster TV show. Here are my 10 reasons to love it:

~ 1 ~

Books

I have to be honest, I watched the TV series before I even realised there were any books, however I have now read 4 of the books and loved them! I enjoy the surprise in the TV show and then delving into the extra detail in the books.

~ 2 ~

Characters

There is an amazing range of good, bad and colourful characters – some you love and some you love to hate! My favourites have to be Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Daenarys Targaryen and Tyrion Lannister.

~ 3 ~

Creatures

Even though most men have forgotten or refuse to believe in them, north of The Wall, there are a whole host of magical creatures, including: giants, white walkers and the free folk.

~ 4 ~

Death

This is a series which is not scared to kill off leading characters, and death comes for the good, bad and downright despicable characters a like; which definitely keeps you on your toes!

~ 5 ~

Dragons

3 giant, fire breathing dragons with a kick-ass dragon queen…what’s not to love?!

~ 6 ~

Drama

This has got to be one of the grittiest, twisting and turning, drama packed shows on the television now. Even non-fantasy fans I know love this show because of the battles, political intrigue and family feuds.

~ 7 ~

History

The series is set in a fantasy-medieval world where all the characters, places and plots have a history behind them. I love the detail, family trees, ancestral homes, ancient myths, long-running grudges and overall authenticity this adds to the world.

~ 8 ~

Magic

The magic in this series starts off mysterious, you and the characters aren’t sure if it is real. Then as the series has progressed more has been revealed of the true magical power in this world.

~ 9 ~

Opening Credits & Music

These are the only openings credits I don’t fast forward! The music and the abstract view of the places in the world are just so cool.

~ 10 ~

Settings

The series is mainly set in the 7 Kingdoms of Westeros, all of which have their own terrain, climate, people and culture. From the giant ice Wall in the lonely North, to the overcrowded capital city of King’s Landing and down to the hot, exotic southern lands; this feels like a real world.

Do you love Game of Thrones? What have you taken the opportunity to gush about on your blog?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Reasons I Love Game of Thrones!

  1. I love Game of Thrones too but am late to the party and way behind with watching the series (now in series 4). It’s great watching them in close sequence – two at a time usually! I have the first book, but have yet to read it.

    1. Margaret, I am rather jealous that, as you are behind, you are able to watch the show in small binges…I simply can’t wait to watch each new episode so I am never able to save them up! You have plenty of great watching still to come 😀

    1. Hello Got My Book, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face even if you haven’t been able to watch Game of Thrones 🙂

  2. My best friend is currently watching Game of Thrones and she loves it! I don’t think I’ll watch the show or read the books though as I’ve heard there’s a lot of violence and I’m not really a fan of that haha! 😀

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    1. Hello Kyra, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 Great to hear your friend loves Game of Thrones but sorry you think it will be too violent for you.

    1. Hello Joey, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always great to hear from a new face, especially a fellow Game of Thrones fan 😀 And I know, I couldn’t believe the shocking death in the first series and the show has kept me on my toes ever since!

  3. Oh yes, great pick for this weeks prompt! Love that this prompt means nearly all our posts are about something different. I love Game of Thrones, it is one of the most amazing TV shows. I just love the characters, the world, the action, the shocks. I am a bit behind though, which sucks as everything gets spoiled IMMEDIATELY haha . You can check my TTT post out here.

    1. Hello Charnell, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always great to hear from a new face, especially a Game of Thrones fan 🙂 I hope you are able to catch up soon. I am very lucky that we have Sky Atlantic where we are able to record the new episode at 2am; so it is ready to watch as soon as I am home from work 😀

  4. Gosh, I agree with everything you said. This show is perfect; I just have to read the books. Funny thing is I had to watch the first episode three times before I decided to go on watching, but once I got to the end of Season 1, I was addicted. HBO has really raised the bar with this show; what are we going to do when it ends?

    1. Oh Carmen, I can’t imagine a world without Game of Thrones to watch and I don’t want to either! At least you have the books to look forward too when it all ends. For now, I am just going to stick my head in the sand and pretend it will never end 😀

  5. I’ve actually only watched the first episode of Game of Thrones and got totally freaked out from that scene with the creepy girl in the forest (dunno what she’s called. A whitewalker?), but I’ve been living semi-vicariously through my BF and colleagues as they’re all crazy about the show! The characters do seem to be so utterly unique, and no one is just good and bad. I’ve been waiting for the right moment to binge all the episodes — hopefully with someone by my side because I’m super easily scared, haha.

    Here’s my TTT. It’s on book reviews. 🙂

    1. Hello Reg, thank you for stopping by and commenting – it is always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I am so jealous that you have the opportunity to watch this show in one long binge! I also hope you enjoy it, it can be scary and violent but there are so many other amazing things about it for you to love 😀

  6. I agree with everything you said! My husband says he doesn’t want to watch a “dragons and swords” show and I’ve had a hard time convincing him that it’s much more sophisticated. He watched the first two episodes with me, but I’m not sure if he’ll become a fan.

Leave a Reply

