Challenge: Book to Movie 2016 (Wrap-Up)

Book to Movie Challenge 2016

I’m sorry that The Book to Movie Challenge in 2016 – created and hosted by the lovely C.J. of ebookclassics – has come to an early end. I had a lot of fun linking in my adaptation posts, joining discussions and taking part in competitions. And while the challenge is coming to an early end, I have still watched a great amount:

~ January ~

Tangled (2010) **
Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016) ***
From Russia with Love (1963) **
Exodus: Gods and Kings (2014) ***
Sleepy Hollow (Series 3 – Part 1) *
Endeavour (Series 3) ***
The Help (2011) ***

~ February ~

Seventh Son (2014) *
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2016) ***
Dickensian (2016) **
War and Peace (2016) **
Far from the Madding Crowd (2015) **

~ March ~

Shetland (Series 3) ***
Cinderella (2015) ***
The Revenant (2016) ***
The Divergent Series: Allegiant (2016) **
Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands (2016) *
Batman v Superman (2016) ***

~ April ~

The Frankenstein Chronicles (2015) ***
Little Women (1949) **
Shakespeare Live! From the RSC (2016) **
The Night Manager (2016) ***

~ May ~

Captain America: Civil War (2016) ***
Ant-Man (2015) **
Graeme of Thrones (12.05.2016) ***
Big Hero 6 (2014) **
Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015) ***
X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) ***
The Legend of Hercules (2014) *

That is a fabulous 29 adaptations! I was also thrilled to be awarded a prize by C.J. for my participation in the challenge; I chose an Amazon UK voucher so look out for my up-coming new e-books. And never fear this is not the complete end of The Book to Movie challenge, it should be back next year in a new format which I look forward too.

What adaptations have you watched this year? Have you watched any of these on my list?

12 thoughts on “Challenge: Book to Movie 2016 (Wrap-Up)

  1. In such a short time, you did an amazing job watching adaptations! Probably out of your list I enjoyed Sherlock and War and Peace the most. I must have missed your review of The Night Manager. Do you commend I watch it?

    1. CJ, I have truly had a bumper year (so far) of adaptations – there have been so many great new film and TV adaptations, and then I have also been able to catch up with some older adaptations I have wanted to watch for a while. I highly recommend watching The Night Manager it is one of my favourite watches of the year 😀

  2. Congrats on your prize! You earned it. I have seen quite a few of the ones you saw but also got some new ideas. You have become my go to person for choosing adaptations to watch.

  3. Shame it’s come to an end but you did brilliantly! I do enjoy making comparisons between books and films and seeing how film-makers interpret them. Sometimes it works better than others, though!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I love seeing some great stories come to life on the screen and stage; always have – although a lot of these are adaptations of books I haven’t read as well.

      1. Tangled, The Help, Far from the Madding Crowd, The Revenant, Cinderella, and Ant-Man. I have War and Peace in my queue to watch next.

        1. Carmen all really good watches – I particularly loved The Help. I hope you enjoy War and Peace I don’t know how accurate it is but it is a beautiful production.

Leave a Reply

