New Books: June 2016

New Books - June 2016

Hello my fellow bookworms, I must confess I have had a bit of splurge! Here are the new goodies I have added to my bookshelf and Kindle recently:

Cauldstane by Linda Gillard

Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard

The Trysting Tree by Linda Gillard

The People the Fairies Forget by Cheryl Mahoney

First-up, I had a splurge on Amazon (UK) and topped up my Kindle with e-books by two of my favourite authors; with the Amazon voucher I won for taking part in the Book to Movie 2016 challenge. I’ve previously read Emotional Geology, but it was a library copy so I am thrilled to finally have my own copy, while the other three books are all new-to-me.

Dodger by Terry Pratchett

Next, a quick peek in one of my favourite charity bookshops saw me adding this, one of his more recent books, to my ever-growing Pratchett collection. (I don’t think a ‘New Books’ post would really be complete without one of these).

The Hairy Dieters: Fast Food by Si King & Dave Myers

Then a rather surprising buy was this cookbook by the nation’s beloved ‘Hairy Biker’ Chefs – I say surprising because I didn’t know that they had a new cookbook out! I spotted this completely by chance, but as it was a reasonable price and I have been really enjoying the previous ‘Hairy Dieter’ cookbooks: I just had to buy it!

Lost Amidst the Cosmic Storm by Mike Phillips

Finally, I was contacted by the author about receiving an ARC of this new young adult fantasy novel. I accepted as I have previously enjoyed Phillips’ fantasy novel The World Below and I am interested in trying more of his work.

Do you fancy any of these? What new book purchases have you made recently?

18 thoughts on “New Books: June 2016

    1. Lynn, I have already flicked through and spotted lots of yummy looking recipes, but I will have a proper read through it once I’ve finished my other new cookbook; Save with Jamie 🙂

  1. Getting books is always fun! Even though I have so many. Right now I am stuck reading a very boring biography of Mary Todd Lincoln, Abraham Lincoln’s wife. She was not boring but some biographies are better than others. It is for a reading group and I try to read what is chosen even if I don’t like it that much. This one might defeat me though.

    1. Judy, you’re right it is always fun to get new books 🙂 I am sorry to hear you’re finding the biography you’re reading boring – I hope it perks up or that it’s not a long read!

  2. Thanks, Jessica, for all your kind words about my books. 🙂 There are 8 altogether now and they’re all a bit different. CAULDSTANE and THE GLASS GUARDIAN are ghost stories.

    1. You’re very welcome Linda 🙂 I have now read 5 of your novels, including The Glass Guardian, and if Cauldstane is another ghost story it might make a perfect autumn read 😀

  3. I love that feeling of being able to choose a number of books all at once when you have a gift voucher. The only problem is deciding which one to read first …

    I’ve read Cauldstane and Emotional Geology, both enjoyable books. I’ve never read any of Terry Pratchett’s books, but keep thinking I’ll try one.

    1. Margaret, I know exactly what you mean about a voucher! It was so exciting just getting click buy on so many books in a row. And I will find it hard to pick which one to read first, as I am so excited about them all! So pleased to hear you enjoyed Cauldstane and Emotional Geology – I will perhaps have to bump Cauldstane up my TBR pile, however I am sorely tempted to re-read Emotional Geology too!

      As for Terry Pratchett, I can’t recommend his books enough. Whether you go for his comical fantasy books from the Discworld or his books for children, I think you will be pleasantly entertained. Actually Dodger might be a good one for you. I’ve learned it is not a Discworld novel but instead a stand-alone, re-look at Charles Dickens’ London and famous character.

  4. Wonderful haul! I love the look of Dodger, is it a standalone or part of a specific discworld series? Also that cookbook haha! I’m really enjoying The Happy Pear on youtube and their cookbook and I recently splurged on a UP book about the feminist bookstore movement in the US.

    1. Thank you Bina 🙂 I’ve just looked up Dodger and in fact it is not a Discworld novel after all! It is a stand-alone young adult novel about Charles Dickens’ London and famous character 😀

      You’ve just got to love the ‘Hairy Bikers’! I hope you continue to enjoy The Happy Pear cookbook, I’m afraid I’ve not heard of it before. Plus I hope you get a lot from the UP book about the feminist bookstore movement in the US; again, sadly not something I know anything about.

  5. I haven’t read any of these – I hope you enjoy them all. I’ve always thought Linda Gillard’s books sounded interesting. I think I might have to try one soon!

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 I hope you are able to try one of Gillard’s novels soon – I can highly recommend Emotional Geology, which is my favourite, however thinking of your love of history Untying the Knot might be good one for you to start with.

    1. FictionFan, Emotional Geology is still probably my favourite of Gillard’s novels however I have found all of her books wonderful, and I really hope I can tempt you with my reviews 😀

Leave a Reply

