Challenge: Once Upon a Time X (The End)

Once Upon a Time X

Fellow bookworms as it is the 21st June 2016 this means The Once Upon a Time X event, hosted by Carl V @ Stainless Steal Droppings, has sadly come to an end… however they did all live happily ever after! (Do you like what I did there?!). From this event’s broad categories of  Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology, this is what I read:

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

The Book of Life

An interesting, gripping and  satisfying ending to the All Souls trilogy; the bestselling paranormal romance. I am not a huge romance fan but I have loved how full of history, magic and art these books are.

**


Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Broken Banners

 Another engaging and highly readable, fantasy novella from the Echo of the Ascended  series which continued the adventures of Elinor, the King’s Reaper.

**


The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit

The Phoenix and the Carpet

Children’s fantasy classic filled with more magical adventures with 5 siblings (who we first meet in Five Children and It), a phoenix and a flying carpet.

**


Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Best Left in the Shadows

The first novella in this intriguing, crime noir thread to the Echo of the Ascended fantasy series, which I just sped through!

***


The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

The Water Babies

Another children’s classic fantasy and moral tale which follows the little orphan Tom as he is magically transformed. I enjoyed but didn’t love it – I do wonder if I’d have enjoyed it more or less as a child.

*


Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett

Witches Abroad

The second hilarious and fun Discworld adventure to feature the witches: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg and young Magrat (my favourite set of Discworld characters, so far).

***


The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M Harris

***

The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

**

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by J K Rowling

**

My full thoughts on these last three books are still to be posted.


Which means I have read …

9 books

Woo hoo! That is definitely the most I have ever completed, in any year I have taken part, in this event; beating last year’s record of 6 books. I have also really enjoyed my reading too. While I am sad to see the end of this wonderful event, I do have Carl V’s equally wonderful R.I.P event to look forward too in the Autumn.

Did you take part in this event? Are you looking forward to the R.I.P XI event?

12 thoughts on “Challenge: Once Upon a Time X (The End)

  1. Not a bad number there, Jessica. (Well, okay, that’s an understatement – I think it’s pretty awesome :)) I’m intrigued by this Magret; so far my favourites are Granny Weatherwax and Death. Glad you liked the books, and so many a great deal.

    Interesting what you said about The Water Babies. It’s always seemed to me on the fence between classic and… book-that’s-almost-there, if that makes sense. Not quite as well-known but in the background all the same, and I think your opinion may be the reason.

    1. Thank you Charlie 😀 If you love Granny Weatherwax, you get a whole lot of her in Witches Abroad, plus Death makes a cameo (as witches can see him). I think a ‘book-that’s-almost-there’ sums up The Water Babies perfectly! I thought it had a good premise however the style and execution let it down – hence I enjoyed it but didn’t love it which, as you said, might explain why it seems a side-lined classic.

  2. This sounds like a very cool challenge. I like all the genres. Maybe next year. Congrats on all the reading you got done. And you now have officially read more E Nesbit books than I have!

  3. Well done! 9 books is very impressive. I didn’t take part this year but I’m definitely hoping to join in with R.I.P, which is one of my favourite reading challenges. 🙂

  4. You did really well – I should have done much better but I didn’t cross post enough of my reviews and I didn’t really think about the categories properly! Always the autumn events with the creepier books and the dark nights!
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

