New Read: Witches Abroad

Witches Abroad

At the end of last year, I started to work my way through, from the beginning, books from the epic Discworld series by Terry Pratchett; which between my father and I we own. Next up was Witches Abroad the twelfth published Discworld novel.

In Witches Abroad we return to the kingdom of Lancre in Pratchett’s magic, weird and fantastical Discworld – there we re-join the local witches: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg and young Magrat. Peace reigns over the land again but things are to be turned upside down for the witches when Magrat inherits the wand and role of Fairy Godmother. Romantic and idealistic Magrat immediately sets out for a land far, far away (Genua) to help her new fairy god-daughter, and ignoring her protestations Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg insist on coming along too.

The witches are my favourite set of Discworld characters, so far; particularly Granny Weatherwax. Granny is a weather worn, practical and stubborn old woman, although Nanny Ogg and young Magrat are as equally endearing and hilarious. During their long journey the witches have some disastrous adventures, accidental successes, humongous rows and strangely discover many old fairy tales are playing out in the lives of real people. This gives them a whole host of magically characters to meet: an annoying Little Red Ride Hood, a confused and tortured wolf, a sleeping princess, two odd step-sisters and a super creepy Prince Charming – someone has seriously messed with the order of the world and they must be stopped!

Terry Pratchett is a well loved author of mine and I was very sad at his passing last year – to me the best way to do him tribute is to continue to read and share my thoughts on all his wonderfully fun books. Witches Abroad is the eighth Discworld novel I have read, but the twelfth published. Although before I haven’t read them in any particular order, I am now trying to read the oldest to the newest books I own. However I don’t believe this is a series you necessarily have to read in order. The stories often follow various different characters – in this case this is the 2nd witches book and I was so excited to read more about them that I skipped Pyramids, which I will have to go back too.

Witches Abroad is another hilarious and fun Discworld adventure, inter-fused with fairy tales and the voodoo culture of the Deep South of America. Great read.

Have you read this? Who are your favourite set of Discworld characters?

Once Upon a Time X – #6

13 thoughts on “New Read: Witches Abroad

  1. Oh my! I love the witches *dances around the room in a ridiculous (not to mention slightly embarrassing) fashion! I didn’t know this book had Ogg and Weatherwax. I will definitely be reading it – I loved the Tiffany Aching series.
    Thanks missus
    Lynn 😀

  2. I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t get along with Terry Patchett when I tried him – a source of family friction since my sister is a massive fan! But your reviews always tempt me to try again… 🙂

    1. FictionFan, I think it is about finding the right book and that can vary a lot for readers, even for Pratchett fans, because there are so many books, they are so diverse and follow many different characters. Many would argue as well, that he got better as he went along – in which case trying one of the newer ones might be more successful 🙂

  3. I hate when good authors die. I’ve never read Terry Pratchett, but I know several people who love his books. I used to read a lot more fantasy than I do now, but maybe it’s time to start reading it again. 🙂

  4. “Terry Pratchett is a well loved author of mine and I was very sad at his passing last year – to me the best way to do him tribute is to continue to read and share my thoughts on all his wonderfully fun books.” I love that. We feel similarly about our authors!

Leave a Reply

